I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 25, 2013 - 12:04 a.m.

A Brief History of the Budgiedome

Someone asked me for a history of the the Budgiedome. As long as I'm writing it I'll share it with everyone and boost my readership.

Once again the screen is going wavy as we have a flashback. The year is 1999 the place Long Hill Farm, the event the Falcon Ridge Folk Festival. That was my first. A few years before Rita Houston told me that I should go. I hardly knew it. I almost went in 1998, two of my favorite acts were there, Moxy Früvous and Christine Lavin. Nobody else I knew was going so I didn't go. The next year Christine didn't play but Früvous did and I decided to go even though I didn't know anybody going. I borrowed a tent from my sister Alison, bought a sleeping bag, and headed north. I got there early and had my choice of places to camp. I picked a picturesque spot on top of the hill. Then I went in search of people I knew. I found a camper with a sign with the Früvous Budgiedog logo and "Camp Lori Steve" written on it. I knew Lori and Steve and waited for them. They didn't show up but Kris did. I knew Kris. What was he 14? But he knew how to set a tent up and when we got back to mine he fixed it up. And who was setting up the tent next to mine? Jack Hardy. I was sold on Falcon Ridge before the music started.

I late found Lori and Steve and hung out with them. So did lots of other Früheads . It became Camp Früvous . We stayed up late and sang. There were no outside performers. Steve spotted a structure that interested him. It was a large tarp spread over thee arches of PVC pipe, He wanted to build one. That's the genesis of the Budgiedome. What did I have to do with it? Steve's an engineer and he needed someone to listen as he figured things out. I'm a math geek. I was what her had. So I became a charter member of the Budgiedome Family before it existed.

The next year we put it up. We invited Früheads to camp with us. I'm guessing there were at least 20 of us. Camp Früvous was in business. We needed a name for the structure. Remember the Früvous Logo is the Budgiedog. For you Americans a budgie is a parakeet.


There was also a budgieplane so someone came up with Budgiedome. It wasn't me. I'd have objected to calling it a dome. I'd have gone with Budgiearcade. That is why nobody asked me to name it.

We started off sitting inside of it and singing then Russell Wolff showed up and performed. Then he rounded up other people to perform. Personally I didn't approve. I enjoyed our own singing. But if you build it they will come. So we became a walk in showcase. I wasn't much involved. Some nights I went to bed early.
. Eric had been a walk in that I missed but Carey saw and she got me to see him. I became a fan, then I became a friend. Then not sure the year Eric asked me if he could do a planned gig that he'd announce on his website. I said sure! I knew everyone loved Eric. He was the first booked performer. It went well. So the next year I booked the lone planned act, the Kennedys. Paul who joined us I think the first Budigedome year took over as emcee with no objections from me after I found the horses head in my sleeping bag. From there things spread. I started asking more and more people and as we had less and less people camping with us the group singing died of natural causes. We became a performance tent. Me being me, it became structured with a schedule.

It went from me asking people with trepidation if they'd play to people asking me if they could play and the problem became saying no to people. Jim Infantino was the first stranger I asked to play. I had seen him perform before and knew he was great. Now I'm not shy about asking at all. I can't offer any money but people will play for a good audience and we have a great one.

So that's the grand and glorious history of the Budigedome.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!