I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 01, 2014 - 11:33 a.m.

What's that You Say Mr. Robinson and Ms. Rohe?

I was busy yesterday. I have a lot to write about. So of course I want to write about Labor Day. I might just have to hold up on that till tomorrow.

I went over to Heather's yesterday and I thought it was to help her work on something. But when I got there her friend Cam was there and our plans changed. I suggested going out to play, specifically Brooklyn Bridge Park. I had never been there. Heather is in Williamsburg and the way Williamsburg works is that if you want to go to the rest of Brooklyn it's often easiest to go through Manhattan. It was only two stops but two different trains. We crossed over the Williamsburg Bridge then under the East River again by tunnel on the .

The park is beautiful but there's not that much there. It does have a great view.

On one lawn a big jumbotron was set up and they were showing The US Open. A bit strange going to watch it in a park but I guess I could see it. What I really wanted to do was ride the carousel. I had seen it from walking across the Brooklyn Bridge. I couldn't find it. I thought they got rid of it. We still had time after seeing the park and decided to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge. I had walked across it with Heather on Memorial Day weekend so I opened and closed the summer the same way.

The weather started changing. My ponytail curled up which didn't bode well. Hair is an excellent hygrometer. But it did make the sky pretty.

They are doing construction on the Manhattan end of the walkway and it's covered in canvas. It's used as a art canvas, covered with graffiti. Some vandal drew this.

See the City through the canvas? What kind of antisocial anarchist draws something like that? He should be thrown off the bridge.

When we got to City Hall it started to drizzle then stopped. Cam got on the to Penn Station and Heather and I took the up to Astor Place. Heather was going to a play over at Theater for the New City. When we got off the train there was a torrential downpour. We made it to Third Avenue where we got umbrellas at the corner store. Still got pretty we. When we got to the theater Heather went to the show and I dried out a bit in the lobby. The rain let up some and I left to walk to Rockwood Music Hall which isn't that far away. Jean Rohe in her duo with Liam Robinson and Rohe. was on Stage 3 at 6:30, doors opened at 6:00. I had 45 minutes to kill so I ate at Georgia BBQ. They have the best fried chicken and that's what I ordered. They were a bit slow, which is unusual, they are great, I had to rush to get out by 6:00. Yes I could have waited but I was meeting Gidge and Loyse at the show at 6:00. I got there and the outer door was locked. They often are late letting you downstairs but never into the bar above the stage. I knocked. The bartender let me in and told me that doors weren't till 6:30. I told her that wasn't what the website said. She said I was wrong but I could wait I Rockwood 1 or 0. I walked through Rockwood 2 to get to Allen Street where they are and saw that the sign out front said the show was at 6:30, just like I thought and planned on. I walked back around the block and saw Gidge and Loyse. The bartender told them that she checked the website and doors were at 6:30. Obviously she didn't. I double checked and the website still said doors at 6:00. Gidge ducked into the sushi place next door and I was just going to walk around a bit. Ten minutes later I saw someone walk into Rockwood 3. The doors were open. I walked in There was Liam. I talked to him and some of his friends, Chris and Scott, yes I remember their names! Jean came out and joined us. I caught up with them. Then thought to ask when the show started. It was 6:30. I ran next door to tell Gidge. Loyse said she'd be back at 6:30 and she was. We went right in and sat down front. This show was arranged at the last moment, just a couple of days before so it was an intimate crowd.

I don't know how many people are in Jean's pretty head but there are a lot, and they all have talent and there own way of writing. Some of them live in Liam's head. He wrote a bunch of the songs they did. This is very different from a Jean Rohe and the End of the World Show or a Jean Rohe solo show or a Jean Rohe Trio show. They started with an a capella Appalachian ballad. A few of the songs echo Simon & Garfunkel. One was from a post-apocalyptic opera they are toying with. You know how some artists you hear the first song and go, "this is great" but then every song is a variation of that one? That never happens at a Jean Rohe show.


Liam & Jean






A fun thing with intimate crowds is the audience interactions. Jean was saying something and recast a sentence in the middle and I could tell it was so she wouldn't end it with a preposition. Then I think it was Chris, could have been Scott pointed that out! And I told him that I was thinking the same thing. Then Jean started saying how great it is playing with a crowd that will dissect her syntax. It was a beautiful tangent.

After the show I introduced Jean to Gidge and Loyse. I talked to one of her old friends Ryan. That reminds me I have to friend him on Facebook. I will do that now. I love that I liked Chris, Scott, and Ryan. I'd expect to like Jean or Liam's friends.

After that I headed to the subway with Gidge and Loyse where we went our separate ways. I went to Trader Joe's. I won $20 in their bring your own bag raffle! I spent 58� on a very heavy bag of groceries

On the ride home I took out Lord of the Rings to read. It was soaked from when I was caught in the rain. Even after I got my umbrella it was getting wet. When I got home I had a brilliant idea, I'd put it in the oven at 200˚ to dry out! Sounds great doesn't it. It probably wasn't so stupid except I forgot about it. A few hours later it was dry. the paper was fine. But there's a but. You knew there'd be a but. But the glue in the binding had melted and the book fell apart. Now I have to buy a new one. Yes I am an idiot.

I live in West Indian neighborhood. Today is the West Indian Parade. When I went to bed at 12:30 there was music blasting from a neighbor's yard. I used earplugs and still heard it. I did fall asleep. I woke up at 4:30 to go to the bathroom. The music was blasting even louder!

Of course it could be worse. There were two shootings in the neighborhood last night. Why do people feel that ethnic parades are an excuse to get drunk and spread negative stereotypes of their ethnic group? It's not just the Irish

I have to cross Eastern Parkway today. That's where the Parade is. I don't know how I am going to manage that. This should be interesting. Maybe I'll get to see some of the parade at least.

Now to make breakfast. Feels like a breakfast sandwich day. I wish I had sausages in the house. I'll use Taylor Ham.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 01, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!