I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 18, 2013 - 11:33 a.m.

Barnaby Bright, Nathan and Becky Bliss, in Baltimore with Becca and Billie

I'm writing this on the Boltbus. It is a particularly cramped one and the guy next to me has his elbow digging into me and the person in front of me put her seat all the way back. This is not fun. I was on the line to board 10 minutes before anyone else but they others boarded before me, not because they were A and B and I was C, they didn't use that. They just didn't respect the line and rushed to the door. There is no place to plug in my computer. I am not a happy traveler. I would have rather have paid more and taken the train. This was not worth the savings.

OK so why am I on the Boltbus?" My secret mission yesterday was a trip to Baltimore to see Barnaby Bright at Becca's house. Yes I am seeing Barnaby Bright on Saturday and I see them quite often in New York so why did I travel to Baltimore? To see Becca who most years I only see at Falcon Ridge and to surprise Becky and Nathan. That's why it was a seceet mission. When I came in Becca and I were gratified by their reaction, the classic "What are you doing here? They didn't even know that Becca and I were friends so there was no obvious connection.

The trip down was much better. I had more room and a more considerate seatmate. On the ride down I had my usual nostalgia as I passed landmarks. I used to go down to Baltimore every month or so to see Carey. I was disappointed that the train station, where the bus drops you off, wasn't more familiar. Carey picked me up there many times but it didn't ring any bells.

I got there a few hours before the house concert so I had some time alone with Becca, her housemates Billie and Dave (I got his name right, right?), Nathan and Becky. Then people started to arrive, an interesting mix from high school kids to senior citizens. I got to meet Becca's mother, that was nice. I am totally blanking on the name of the one person I knew. He introduced himself and I said that he didn;'t have to and now I have forgotten his name. It isn't easy not having a brain. I'm lucky I remember my name.

Barnaby Bright is one of the bands I see the most often. There's a reason for that, they are not only great but unique. Seeing them is not like seeing anyone else. Cognative dissonance is their hallmark for me. They are two of the sweetest, nicest, most upbeat people I know, a Kennedys vibe. There music on the other hand is often dark and creepy and you know, wonderful. They are more musically sophisticated than most performers in the Nerfaverse. It's Nathan's Jazz background,. They are like those fruity jazz bands that play more than three chords. That's probably a hindrance to being popular but Becky's voice can win over anybody. They give the complete musical experience, lyrics, music, performance, and banter.

After the show they couldn't stay because today they are being interviewed by John Platt at WfUV. If the bus makes good time I might go up and watch. The weather is getting me nervous. I'll see when I get to the City.

I spent the night. We sent out for Chinese for dinner and then just hung around. They are fun people to talk to and that was a great way to spend an evening.

This morning Becca had to get to work, she teachers. I was glad I caught her before she left. I got several good bye hugs. Becca gives great hug. Becca is an archetype of a class of people I always have trouble describing but I think I came up with it last night. She has an extremely hi ratio of my affection to amount we socially interact. I always tell my students that fractions and ratios are important. There is an example.

After Becca went to work I made breakfast, poached eggs. I always feel better with a hot breakfast.

Oh more food. when I got there yesterday they asked me if I wanted something to eat. I said, "peanut butter." But they only had crunchy which I can't eat so Becca suggested sunflower seed butter. It was amazing.I have to start buying it. I can't eat sunflower seeds any more and miss them. I thought it was too subtle a flavor for a butter but I was wrong.

I better post this before my computer's battery runs down. Then I have to see if I can find a way to get comfortable with this guy next to me. He just poked me with his elbow. I'm going to not worry about disturbing him and put my computer in the overhead and either go to sleep or read. Wait that reminds me of a rant.

I finished The travels of Marco Polo. and brought the Old Curiousity shop . I started to read the preface that told the story of the first copies coming to America and how people reacted to the surprise ending. It then gave the surprise ending. Yes the preface was a spoiler with no warning. Why would someone do that? Did she think that everyone knew the ending? I didn't. Do you know it? She teaches at Columbia, I'm thinking of going through their directory and wring her an email where I'll very politely call her a jerk. Lucy did that to Charlie Brown in Peanuts. She said, "Rosebud's his sled." You don't want to be compared to Lucy Van Pelt.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 18, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!