I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 14, 2013 - 2:26 p.m.

Shooting at the Walls of Heartach Bang! Bang!

Dateline - Bolt Bus to Baltimore:

Bolt Bus to Baltimore is my We're About 9 cover band.

Last you heard I was in my office waiting for IT to come and install Flash, Dropbox, and Picasa on my computer. I've been waiting for over a yer for the Flash. The head of IT in my campus is someone I'm friendly with. He told me someone would come before my second class. When I ran into him I told him that they didn't. He sent someone, he never came. he said he'd send someone after my class. He never came. They give them very limited resources.

The entire thing made my day run late. I had to go shopping. I had a quick dinner tat Wendy's (when you haven't eaten there in ages they are good) then went to Fairway and Trader Joe's. I was on the line at Trader Joe's at 7:15 and I had a show to go to in Brooklyn at 8:00 and I had to go home first. I realized that wasn't going to work. But then I got a text from Kat Quinn she had a last minute gig at the Living Room. To make it even more enticing it was something special the very first Bangs Collective concert. The Bangs Collective is Kat, Jo Kroger, and Caitlin Mahoney. The three of them routinely back each other up but they never did a show as band before. Calling themselves The Bangs Collective started as a joke based on their hair.


Kat, Jo, and Caitlin
You can see who didn't get the memo. Kat and Caitlin said Jo looked cute with bangs when she was 7.

I figured I could just make it there on time. I was right! I know my usual commutes, So I went from Chelsea back to Crown Heights. Put perishables in the fridge (the reason I had to go home) and headed back to the Lower East Side, all of 10 minutes from where I started in Chelea. I took the to the to the home. Then the to the . Nice and simple for a guy that once went from New York to Allentown via Baltimore.

They all did a lot more than look cute on stage. I go to see them all individually but I like them even more as a band. They have musical and personal chemistry. They really do something with the harmony. It's not just adding a 3-5 to the 1. The arrangements are varied, and what matters even more to me, they vary within each song. That's what keeps it interesting. You never know who is going to join in or when. the harmony can be a bit ahead or behind the lead. It adds a dimension to the music, it isn't just ornamentation.


Kat


Jo


Caitlin

I do one of my favorite pieces of audience participation when Kat does her song Kind of Brave. It's based on a short film about a guy who falls in love with a strange woman and tells her by writing a love letter to her on a paper airplane. In fact I never know the title and call it the paper plane song. So you know what I do. I make a paper airplane and write a love letter on it! OK it's a short love letter. It has to fit in the central crease of a small plane. But that's a writing challenge. As this was the premiere show for the Bangs Collective last night's note said, "You make my ♥ go Bang!" How many of you are thinking, "oh that's why you are single?" Unfortunately I found multi-tasking at videography and piloting too difficult and didn't catch the plane on the video. O that a man's reach should exceed his grasp or what's a heaven for?

While I was sitting there busy watching the show I felt an affectionate on my back. Yes I could tell it was affectionate. And I could even tell it was female, and I make believe I can tell it belonged to someone beautiful. That's actually the common illusion of getting the order of things wrong in memory. For I turned around as the owner of the hand leaned in and I saw it was Lauraly. And I think this is the first time I spelled her name right without looking. I will now double check. I have always known it's Laura followed by ly but I always want to spell it as Laurel followed by y. She works there. She wasn't working that room, which is why I didn't know it was her without looking. I didn't know she was there till she spotted me and came by to say "hi."

I almost forgot, I have more pictures of cute girls. Pictures of cute girls help my ratings.

So some of you are wondering what I'm now doing on a bus to Baltimore. I'm going to the ilyAIMY CD release. Becca's going to pick me up, we'll have dinner then go to the show. Then I crash with Rob and Kristen, get up early on Sunday to catch an 8:15 bus back to the City so I volunteer at First Acoustics' season opener, my beloved Bobtown. Yes I am busy with bands that I love this weekend. I'm busy with people I love that aren't in bands too. It's sort of hard to keep up those feelings of alienation I had. I'm am NOT going to make an effort to keep them.

When I was feeling bad I told Carey "So i was going through all this things I'm less a part of now that are important to me list."

She replied "but you're part of, like, everything ever." And she's not only right but I knew she was right before she said it. I never stopped being aware of that. What is slipping away is real but there's always more things to be part of. And not only that but things that slip away can slip back. It's all a matter of perspective an my perspective is in a better place now, even if I'm in New Jersey. I think I'm in New Jersey. We've been on the road for an hour and a half but all I can see are trees.

But now I have a dilemma of crisis proportions, where to eat dinner. I wanted to go to the Paper Moon. That's where I used to go with Carey. It's this fun diner decorated with pez dispensers and toys! It feeds my inner child and I'll wax nostalgic. But Becca says the food's gone downhill and suggested another place whose name I forgot but not the reason she suggested it. They have peanut butter and bacon pancakes. I want to eat peanut butter and bacon pancakes in a restaurant with pez dispensers that I used to go to with Carey. But that isn't going to happen. My entire future happiness depends on getting this right. And I'm coming to exit 3 on the Jersey Turnpike. Don't think I forgot I left you hanging. So which will it be irresistible food or ambience and nostalgia? I want feedback! Answer me via Facebook comment! Remember my fate depends on this decision.The fact that I had my traditional Yom Kippur breakfast of bacon and eggs has no bearing on the question.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 14, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!