I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 08, 2013 - 10:29 a.m.

Bag End Under Hill

Hey I'm writing relatively early. Only 20 minutes after I plan on starting 9AM. I am now in a couch in Brooklyn. I am pretty sure I could say the names of my hosts but I like being mysterious so we'll call it Bag End Under Hill. I'll be walking for a really good bagel sandwich for breakfast when I'm done writing this. I think I'm going to not get dressed and walk in my shorts and t-shirt, that's sort of the idea of sleeping in clothes like that. But now I'm ahead of myself.

Yesterday Tom Bombadil gave me a ride to the Metro North and I started on my odyssey to Brooklyn. It is not easy to get around on public transit with two suitcases, a large tote bag and a back pack when it is 9000 Kelvins. Grand Central Station is wheelchair and therefore wheeled luggage friendly. I even felt I could take the time to get one of the specialty dogs at the great stand on the lower level. I got a jalape�o dog with melted cheese and bacon bits. What was fun was handling that with all the luggage. I managed to get over to a bench and sit and enjoy it.

I needed the train. I knew there was an elevator on the street at 42nd and 6th. What I didn't know was that it didn't go down to the track level. I had to drag the stuff down the stairs in two trips. By then end of that I was soaking wet.

The rest of the trip was easy. I got a seat and the Church Street station is wheelchair accessible. Why do they make you go up a narrow ramp to get to the elevator? I know they aren't idiots and there is a good reason but it made things hard.

There is no good reason people see someone lugging two suit cases behind them coming towards them and expects that person to move around them. One woman in a group of four I'd have to move around, to my left, the entire width the four women were walking as I had no room to my right, gave me when I didn't move and expected her to.

I lost 3.5 lbs of water. I weighed myself when I got in and was 173. That concerned me because I was 177 when I was here a week ago and my Crohn's has been acting up. But a big glass of iced coffee, a can of diet coke, a large chocolate and peanut butter shake, and 3 Perry the Platypus bottles of water later I was up to 176.4. Losing 0,6 lbs I can live with.

I once again spent a night in. I need to get out tonight. Someone was supposed to call me about an apartment but he didn't. That was disappointing. I don't have his number.

I watched TV with Frodo and then when he went to bed watched The Dark Night Rises. I was quite disappointed. I missed that entire series. I remember going to see the first one but not being able to get in for the first one and I never caught up. The entire movie made no sense to me. There were no real motivations for the villains. Even assuming the chief villain is psychotic, which made no sense, why would the henchman help? It had mercenaries acting like zealots. People do crazy things for a cause but there isn't enough money in the world to make them act that way. Not that I didn't have fun with it.

So do I get serious now? Yes but I'll make it short. I've been thinking about religion and how it curtails thinking by some people. Just read the paper. It started with me thinking about President Morsi in Egypt. Yes he won an election held under far from ideal circumstances with 51% of the vote but his theocratic program was supported by far less than half the people. Yet he thought he could impose it on the nation. The Muslim Brotherhood just couldn't understand the concept that you can't impose your religious belief on others.

The real problem with theocracy is that god does not actually issue the orders himself. It's always some person who assures you that he knows what god wants. What it does it remove personal responsibility for the decisions. That's a recipe for disaster.

Of course I'm an equal opportunity atheist and get infuriated at the Israeli Haredim read Israel Prods Ultra-Orthodox to �Share Burden�.

I'll throw one more article at you, Misreading �Eichmann in Jerusalem�. Russell had it right, ideologies function just like religions and lead to similar loss of responsibility. Ideologues and religious zealots might gladly destroy Gotham City for the sake of the destruction but nothing else would do that.

It's the end of another week of Fantasy Baseball and I should let you know how your favorite team the Nashional Batnoses are doing. We had a terrible last few says yet somehow gained ground. We are back at our high water mark 68 points a mere half point behind the hated TSC.

Enough of darkness and dark knights. I'm going to go to the bagel store and get a fresh sausage, egg, and cheese sandwich then come back here and wash it down with cold brewed iced coffee. My life sucks but somehow life is good. I'm going to start thinking about my birthday.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 08, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!