I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 16, 2014 - 12:40 p.m.

Why is my head like a bagel? They both of a hole in them.

There's going to be an idiot story today. Once again the challenge is to see it coming.

Yesterday was therapy. It was a rough session. I haven't been talking about it but I'm going through a very rough time. Things are bad. And I'll leave it at that. When I'm writing that all goes away.

As I do just about every other week I bought bagels after therapy. They are only 45� after 4 PM on Mondays. I was good and remembered to bring my own bag, one from Ceol na nGael/A Thousand Welcomes, the WfUV Irish music shows. Then I headed over to Heather's. I had to go because of my last idiot story. On Sunday I had her print out the mailing label so I can return the thermasilk undershirt that Amazon sent me by mistake then I left it at her house without even looking at it. Yes I'm an idiot.

When I got there I made dinner. We had Italian sausages. Not much to cooking those. I can't be proud of myself. I did make a great omelet for breakfast. When I decided to start making omelets I found instructions online and have followed them even since with some slight variation. The thing is it isn't how anyone else in the world makes omelets. I like mine more. It's comes out almost like a pastry with two distinct layers. Invite me to spend the night and I'll make you an omelet one of these days. I'm not sure if I've ever made one for anyone else. No I did, for Lena. But I never made a peanut butter omelet for anyone else.

As usual I took advantage of being at Heather's to watch TV. Too bad I didn't see anything good. "How to Get Away with Murder" is sensationalist nonsense. Then I watched "Ascension." A ship traveling to another star for100 years is not considered interesting enough to carry a series. So it's about murder and sex with the sci-fi being just a veneer.

When it was over I took the bus home. Late at night the bus ride is so easy, no traffic and it skips so many stops. it almost skipped the one I got on at. I was standing there waving and the driver overshot me.

When I got home I went to cut the bagels and freeze them and then � Yes here's the idiot story. I left them on the bus. Can you say "ARRRGGGHH" with me? It's so hard not having a brain. Did you see it coming?

I entered another month into my concert database. Through the end of May I had seen 79 concerts. That's on pace for 191 for the year.

I know I hardly wrote anything but it's 12:40 and I haven't eaten. Let me take care of that.

OK at least I came up with a clever title.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 16, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!