I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 02, 2013 - 12:02 p.m.

Brides in Bacon

The West Indian Parade is going to start soon in my neighborhood. I really should go. I have nothing else to do. But I can't resist writing. Maybe I'll keep this short and try and catch it.

Have you picked up that I'm feeling alienated? I don't have therapy today and I could use it. the problem is that I've been isolated. In the last week I've had perhaps an hour and a half's worth of meaningful conversation. I don't time my calls so that could be off. I really like who those conversations have been with but that does mean I've spent an awful lot of time with just myself for company. I am not going to check it but I think that sine Falcon Ridge I've shared only two meals with people. That's me trying to write fast. I want to check it. One of my core beliefs is that you can't trust your gut feelings on things like that, we all have biases. You need empirical data. Yes I don't even trust myself. I don't trust your gut feel for statistics either. People are just awful at it when they don't do actual counting.

I'll get more positive. I ran out of bacon yesterday so I went to Trader Joe's to get more. I don't usually buy my bacon there but Mindy said this on Facebook:

Oh, and all Bacon lovers- LOOK NO FURTHER! Trader Joes Ends and pieces. Their bacon is not overly processed and with the normal strips it's 3.99 for 12 oz. With the ends and pieces (bits snipped to make the other packages look pretty) it's 2.99 for 16 oz. Best bacon I have ever eaten in my life. And I've had A LOT of Bacon

I never liked the way the ends and pieces look. I still don't like it. If this is not good I am holding Mindy accountable. On the other hand if it is as good as she says we are going to get married. No I'm not asking her. She has no say in the matter. Neither do I for that matter. We will be married in the eyes of the Hogfather the moment I taste the bacon. But what of my other brides in bacon, Susan Werner and Sarah, you might ask. Well matrimony is a slippery thing in the world of bacon. It's inevitable, it's greased with bacon fat. Why haven't I proposed to Jess and Mel? They gave me bacon pastries. Hogfather forgive me for I have sinned.

As I have been keeping myself company good thing that I enjoy my own company. That last paragraph is pretty much what it means to be me. Not loving bacon but taking the notion that I love bacon to extremes and creating a reality around it. As soon as I made the Discworld connection everything jelled and I got happy. That actually makes me happier than eating bacon. Forgive me Hogfather.

Today's Labor Day and I really should say something. The lot of working people and the distribution of wealth is one of my core political issues. What it comes down to is that the labor market has imperfections. There are imbalances of information and power. To overcome these individuals workers have to come together. That's why we need unions. And it's why we need the government of a democracy to be a voice for the demos, the people. We don't live in the Randian fantasy world. That's as far removed from reality as Middle Earth or the baconverse.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 02, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!