I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 04, 2015 - 12:25 a.m.

Kick in the Assonnet

Dateline Assonet: I remembered to bring my computer with me this weekend and the house I'm staying with has Wi-Fi so you My Gentle Readers get your Wise Madness Fix. I'm very tired and ready to sleep but I need my fix too.

Why am I in Assonet? Because it's near the New Bedford Folk Festival. . Once again I came up here with Mike Kornfeld; this year we were joined by Stephen going for the first time. I had to take the LIRR out to Minneola where I'd be picked up. I checked last night and the LIRR was on a weekend schedule. That meant my train left at 9:14 and I had to leave at 8:44. That would get me there at 9:00 and leave me plenty of time to get my ticket. I was extra good. I set my alarm for 7:44 so I'd have time to make breakfast; one last hoe cooked meal. I got to the station at 9:00 just as I planned and went to get my ticket. There were lines at all the machine but knew which would be the shortest. I double-checked the time on my phone app; it said 9:05. That's when the normal weekday train leaves. I just made it. I have no idea what went wrong on the LIRR website last night.

Our original plan was to stop in Providence RI on the way up. But as we hit New Haven I mentioned that Joe Iadanza drives up there with his family just for the pizza. New Haven is famous for two pizza places, Sally's and Frank Pepe's. Joe goes to Pepe's. We all decided to try it out and got off there. We were stuck in traffic on 95 and could use the break. My phone gave us directions. We got there and found a line but decided to get the pizza anyway. So how is it? Very good. It's not the best in the world, as some people allege but it was excellent. It was also quite different from other places so it isn't ridiculous to say it's the best .It is the best coal fired pizza I've had and the service was good and the staff fun. So yes this story of a folk festival starts with food.

Traffic was so bad that stopping at Providence was out of the question. As it was we arrived an hour later than we wanted to. We are staying Mike's friend Gary's house. It's gorgeous and right on the water. Is that Assonet bay? Maybe there are other people staying here. Is it Sandy and Bob? I think that's right. Gary made dinner for the festival volunteers. We got to eat the same food. It was an amazing smoked pork tenderloin. One was rub and the other marinated. They were cooked in a smoker. This was my kind of meal.

When it got dark there were fireworks! First it was just local people sending their up over the water. Then the town had their official fireworks. They were outstanding. Much better than most municipal fireworks.

Gary hosts house concerts. He played the recording of one them, Dave Carter and Tracy Grammer. They played here twice. I am so jealous. So of course we talked a lot about them.

I've posted some pictures already on Facebook I didn't mention the spectacular sunset. This place is gorgeous.

OK I'm going to get to sleep; tomorrow is a long day. I want to get to New Bedford early so we could buy our tickets and eat breakfast before the music starts at 11:00. We are leaving there at 9:00. The festival is 20 minutes to a half an hour away. If I feel up to it I'll post tomorrow night when I get home.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 04, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!