I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 12, 2015 - 8:49 a.m.

Ariana in Brooklyn

I got up a little earlier than planned so I can write a super short Wise Madness. Unfortunately it's one of worst vision days so it is difficult. I made breakfast first and it has cleared up a bit since I woke up.

I am writing because I wanted to record that I saw Ariana Gillis last night. Yes she's good enough that even when I'm getting ready for NERFA I couldn't miss a chance to see her. That’s' only appropriate as I discovered her at my first NERFA. No I just checked it was my second NERFA, 2011. I discovered her four years ago. She was on my list of top discoveries, this is what I said about her;: She is the one that people are going to walk away from NERFA talking about. She came out of the blue and blew us away." I'll stand by that. She's been a mainstay for me since then. She has not stood still. Last night she did mainly new songs. When I first saw her she sounded Trad. Then she moved on to Progressive Folk. Most of her songs would still fit that but she had one that channeled her inner Burt Bacharach. She has a new EP that I didn't get a chance to listen to, it will have to wait till after NERFA. She's working on a new album. Her band was her Father David, as usual and and and, damn I forgot his name, wait he gave me a CD, Teddy Kumpel. He just came off tour with Joe Jackson. Any of you that saw Jackson at the King's Theater saw Teddy. He thought he saw me there with the WFUV crowd. It must have been Jim, all old guys with pony tails look alike. Jim, don't worry I'm as insulted by this as you are.

So what I noticed last night is how unique her voice is. If I hadn't heard her sing off mic I would think it was something in the way the sound was mixed. Maybe some extra reverb. Whatever it is her voice is unmistakable and striking. As usual the first thing I notice is songwriting. She also writes like no one else, she has that weirdness that says she's my people and that's always distracted me from her voice. She's another one that if she was more conventional could make it as a pop star, she has that great voice, personality, and looks.

I thought a few of my friends would be there but the only one that could make it was Eliot Now here's the thing, she has been taking time off to write but now she's back to coming to New York once a month so join me in December. I don't have a date. Yes it's Brooklyn but it's only one stop into Brooklyn Get yourself to the The Living Room and see Ariana.

Now I have to clean up my breakfast dishes and get out of here.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 12, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!