I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 17, 2016 - 10:20 a.m.

Annoyances and Good Food

I have to leave the house a little after Noon. For most people that's late. For me that's when usually start to make breakfast. OK that means I have to write now. I don't even have time to think about what to write. Can you say stream of consciousness? Of course you can. That was a stupid question.

I left the house later than I wanted yesterday and it was iffy if I would get to the post office before it closed. I didn't have long to wait for the bus or either train so I made it with tons of time to spare. It's the waiting that makes the commute a killer.

I did something for dinner I always say I should do more, I ate at Whole Foods. When I eat there it's healthier and more varied. I like to sample lots of things, I had tandoori and jerk chicken, chimichurri potatoes, roasted corn, and bacon mashed potatoes. Remember, healthier is a comparative. The corn is the actual unhealthy one. It was a half a cobb and I risked it as my Crohn's has been better and I seem to be able to handle it. I did. Corn is so good.

I used to have a second blog here called, Annoying People. Anyone could post to it. The idea was that when you encountered someone annoying you could vent there. It wasn't for people like Satan who you know but for the random people you come across. I had a good one the other day. I was walking on 14th street by Union Square. That's a very crowded sidewalk that is narrowed from people selling things off tables. I was all the way to the right, as in America we travel on the right side. A woman pushing a baby carriage came straight at me. I couldn't move to my right as there was a table there. I couldn't move to my left as there were other people walking. She didn’t see me because, you know why, she was staring down at her phone. So what it was a super crowded sidewalk and she had a baby carriage, she had to get that Pokémon. I don't know that's what she was actually doing but let's make believe she was. I gave a little yelp and put my back flat against the table. She glanced at me and went right back to the phone as she passed me by less than an inch. Not that I'm holding a grudge. I never hold grudges. Just ask Carey. Damn cake that we didn't get to even taste.

It started pouring while I was on the . That's above ground. With one stop to go I took my WFUV poncho out of my bag and unfolded it. I put it on over my backpack and grocery bag. I went to Trader Joe's. I was prepared. I got off the train and the rain had stopped. It's impossible to fold that poncho up small again. All I managed to do was be hot and sticky. That's not an annoying person, that's annoying weather.

You know what's not annoying? The Olympics. Well Ok it was annoying when they showed men's gymnastics last night but there are multiple channels you can watch and I saw track and field. Then there was a great women's beach volleyball match even though the favored American duo of Walsh Jennings/Ross lost to Brazil. The Rio crowd loved it

Today is a tough logistics day. I have therapy at 1:30 then I'm seeing Rod Picott at Hill Country Barbecue at 9:00. Do I come home in between? I don't actually get that much time at home if I do. Maybe I'll hang out at school and read in the library. I have not been reading enough. The problem with coming home is that it means, waiting around to take the bus to the Metro North. Taking the Metro North to the 45 Bus. Switching to the BX29. Coming home. Then taking the BX 29 to the . If I go straight into the City I can just take the 45 to the Pelham Bay Station. I'll see how I feel. I get to have a great dinner at Hill Country tonight and see Rod. That makes up for a host of annoying people and weather and commuting.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 17, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!