I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 15, 2013 - 11:20 a.m.

Speace of Mind and a Snow, Angel

Let's see if I can write this fast. It's 10:18 and I have things I want to do before school.

I got things done at school yesterday. I got a bit ahead in my lesson preps for precalculus. I have to work on Finite Math. I'll be giving my first tests the week after next. actually I'll give the precalculus test next week if things go well.

I did the oddly named "final attendance" which we fill out early in the semester. People that never attended are not charged for the class and are dropped. One student all of a sudden appeared on the roster for the final attendance. I've never seen him and he wasn't on the roster till now. The admin called him. He said he thought he might start attending next week. What is up with that? What does he think a class is? I just marked him never attended which drops him from the class. The admin told him I'd do that .

I hate doing the attendance. I have to go from the signup sheet to the spreadsheet. I make life easier by preparing attendance sheets with their names on it so I just need to see who is missing. I start fill in that everyone is present then change the missing people to absent. the problem is with people that registered after the semester started. I don't see that they are missing so I have to remember to mark them absent for the days before they first attended,

I talked to another teacher who found it harder than I do, why? Because she didn't put lines in the signup sheet so she can't spot who is not signed in easily. How could she not think of putting in lines? A signup sheet for most things has lines to make it easier to write. Anything official will always have lines. She thought it was clever of me to put them in. If she did a face palm and said, "why didn't I do that?" I'd have shrugged it off as a brain glitch but it was something that she didn't think was obvious. If it were the other way around I'd be saying, "I'm an idiot."

After school I went down to Rockwood 1 to see Amy Speace. This was a very hard decision for me. I adore Amy as a musician and a friend but John Forster was playing and I haven't seen him in ages. I usually try and make my musical horizons grow by seeing the performer I see less often if it is all close but in this case I wanted to talk to Amy too. Carey broke the tie and told me to go to Amy.

Amy said to be there early to see Angel Snow, yes that's her real name, who is touring with her. I almost didn't get there in time for Angel's set as I discovered I lost my hat before I left school. I went back to my last class to see if it were there and it wasn't. Nobody had found it and turned it in to security. I'll check again today. I love that hat. It's from Nepal.

I got there at precisely six but Angel wasn't there. She got lost on the subway. I was still glad I got there early as I talked to oh no I'm forgetting his name, and Eliot, yes I spelled it right so he won't give me a hard time, and of course Amy. When Angel showed up she was worth waiting for. I have nothing revelatory to say about her other than she can write and she can sing and I made sure to sing her mailing list. Is she the rare usually dreaded sensitive singer/songwriter that I like? I don't think so. I didn't get the Dar vibes. I'll have to see her again to parse why I like her. She does look like Anais Mitchell but I don't like her with the same part of my brain as Anais.

I decided that I like the expression "like with the same part of my brain" that I coined. I started using it out of desperation because I couldn't find a good way of saying what I wanted to say. I thought the phrase awkward but it has grown on me.

Amy was joined by Bella Betts on Mandolin. I'm surprised they let Bella into Rockwood. Why? This is what she looks like.

I have better pics than that but I haven't edited them yet. I posted that at Facebook when I checked in at the show. Bella is all of 12 years old. She didn't rehearse with Amy. I heard the entire prep when I got there, "_______ is in C." That was pretty much it. Telling her what key each song was in. That's all she needed. I love musicians that can do that. It must be so much fun to be able to do it. That's the superpower I want. Bella is in New York till April. Look out for her. Look for her at the Christopher Street Coffeehouse open mic. I told her mother about it.

Is there anything left for me to say about Amy? We are very close to the 10 year anniversary of our meeting. How many times can I say that she's as good as it gets? I once made a list of the 5 songwriters that have not made it big that were the best. She was on it. I can never publish the list as everyone would say, "I'm not on it?" Of course the list is also out of date.

Amy did a lot of new songs. Her CD release show is on April 16. The Sea the Sea another favorite band/favorite people are opening and releasing their CD. When Amy announced it at Rockwood she said, "It's at another venue so I don't want to say its name. It's a man's name followed by a synonym for tavern." I trust that's enough for My Gentle Readers.

As it was Valentine's Day she told stories about men that broke her heart. The first was in 4th grade. She made a great point. So you know how in school they have everyone cut out hearts to give them to classmates and then you put it in the person's cubbyhole or desk so everyone sees who gets what? That's cruel. She looked right at me when she told the story. She must have known how I suffered. I got only one, one year, from my best friend. I'm still hurting. Her tragedy was that the boy she liked walked right past hers and put t in another girl's cubby.

Then she told the story of her first kiss. It was with Mike Mussina! Yes that Mike Mussina, the pitcher she described as a Yankee but I'm sure she thinks of as an Oriole. Their braces locked, there was blood, that was it for their relationship. He ended up marrying his next girlfriend. I say if he had married Amy he'd be in the Hall of Fame instead of being perhaps the best pitcher eligible but not in it. OK other than Clemons who isn't in it for reasons having nothing to do with how good he was.

After the show I talked to Angel and Amy then grabbed dinner at Lucky
Burger. It was my first time there since I had the problem with the guy taking orders. I was afraid he'd be there but a woman was at the register so I was saved from the awkwardness. I saw the guy, he was working in the back. I wonder if he had run ins with other customers so they took him out off the register.

Now I have to not think of other things to write and get this published so I can shower, make brunch, and get to school on time.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 15, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!