I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 02, 2006 - 12:17 p.m.

Museum Piece

I had an ambitious entry planned for today but now I'm not feeling well so I'll see what I can do.

First off I am going to finally remember, a week after the fact, that I got an actual birthday present from LORi and Steve; a copy of Chuck Brodsky's The Baseball Ballads. It has baseball and folk music, anyone surprised that I love it?


I did not go to the hospital yesterday to visit my mother. Alison did that and I took the day off. I took advantage of the situation to go to the American Museum of Natural History. I took a few pictures along the way; more than 270. I am in the process of putting the ones that came out well online. So far all I have is pictures of the Subway Station. Yes, you read that right. I decided I wanted to make a website photos of subway art and this is where I am beginning. Have I mentioned that I love New York City? It isn't enough that subway stations are functional, they are also looked on as a medium for artistic expression. Many stations are filled with art, often associated with the location. Here is one from the museum.

You can see the rest of them here. Try viewing it as a slideshow.

I am putting up the iconic photos now. Tomorrow I'll put up the quirkier ones. I had planned a few jokes shots they will have to wait.

What brought me to the museum was the Snakes and Lizards Exhibit.

This is a new fad at the museum, exhibits of living animals. They also had a butterfly conservatory and the Darwin Exhibit has live animals too. You'll see the snakes and lizards soon.

High on my list of places that I would consider for my wedding is the Hall of Ocean Life, beneath the Blue Whale.

I never miss the Hall of Gems and Minerals. This is the Star of India, the world's largest star sapphire.

Of course the first thing you think of when you go to the museum is dinosaurs.

Here's T-Rex and Apatosaurus:

I actually visited every hall of the museum. It took me about four and a half hours and that was without stopping to read most of the explanations. I can spend all day there.

After the museum I went down to the Rubin Museum to see if I could get tickets to see Dar for tonight. One big problem, the museum was closed. When I got home I found that there was a second problem, the show is sold out.

I didn't waste the trip to Chelsea, I went shopping for warm weather clothes. In case you haven't heard, it is sort of hot this week. The temperature hit 100°. I bought some more wicking shirts and wicking shorts. I wore them yesterday and stayed dry despite the heat. My skin didn't fare well though. My legs turned bright scarlet with a heat rash that proved quite painful.

How did it get so late? I have to run to the hospital.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 02, 2006
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!