I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 03, 2014 - 11:48 a.m.

Friend of the Friends

Where have all My Gentle Readers gone? Do I have to put your faces on milk cartons? I wonder if the problem is that I've been unhappy and that comes out in my writing. That's part of a feedback loop and a common one not just to me. You're unhappy which makes it less pleasant to be around you so people avoid you so you are unhappy. Positive feedback loops are powerful.

It's amazing what the end of the semester does. I went into school early to work with one student and stayed late after school to work with another. usually I'm all by my lonesome. I like working one-on-one with students.

OK so let's see how well you know me. Where did I go after school? Yes that's right, Rockwood Music Hall. I went to see The Amigos.. I'm an amigo de los Amigos. That should be the name of the fan group. I got there later than I wanted to, 6:30 for a 7:00 show so I didn�t have time for dinner. So I decided to go in early and grab my usual perch in the Statler and Waldorf seats. It was that or standing or stools.

This show marked the Amigos triumphant return from their tour of southeast Asia and China. They did a typical set that they'd do on tour. The technical name for their genre is "songs they like to play." They have given up all illusions of anything else. they did bluegrass, rock and roll, African American spiritual, John Denver, and their own Americana. That's how it should be. And yes you can play all those genres on an accordion even rock and roll. No matter how wrong that sounds, it sounds right.

The Amigos were joined by amiga Brianna Thomas. She is now a fixture at the shows.

They talked quite a bit about the tour. It was 106 when they played in Mandalay. Nobody wore pants there, not even them.

What's next Avalon, the clothing optional folk festival?

As I have not been in good spirits I indulged myself after the show and went to Katz's Deli for dinner. I had my usual knobblewurst, fries, and a cream soda. Next time I have to try the tongue. I was going to but the price stopped me. It's only $2.50 more next tie I'll do it. When I go there I know it's going to be an expensive meal. That's why I don't go there often. It was amazing.

On the way home I stopped at Duane Reade to get Breathe Right strips. I don't like sleeping without them. Some nights when I don't I wake up gasping for breath. I had a $1 manufacturers coupon and the store had a $2 coupon if you used your rewards card. I checked out and didn�t get the $2. The cashier said her printer wasn't working, it prints out a physical coupon, and she sent me to another cashier. She had to first treat it as a return then ring me up again. But then there were problems. She never told me what was going on but from what she said to other people working there it wasn't accepting her inputs. Then when that was straightened out it wouldn't work because of the manufactures coupon. then she got that coupon, and still couldn't get it to work. I suggested just giving me my two dollars and fixing it later. I had already waited around 10 minutes. She ignored me. The manager came over. He did some stuff and she tried again. It didn't work. At no point is anybody apologizing to me. After waiting 15 minutes for my $2 I asked the manager to just give me my money. He did but he glared at me. This should be a no brainer. You don't make the customer wait around when you know he's right and that the problem is all on your end and there's nothing the customer needs to do. .

I'm getting the creative bug again. I need to write. I have to get myself to write. Yes I write this but I am talking creative writing, stories, poems, and songs. I have written all three. I thought of writing a story for today's entry. But that requires a lot of time. I might have been able to whip up a poem. I used to write a lot of poetry. Ten years ago I found a stash of poetry from a few years before that and posted them here. Now I'm going to be environmentally friendly and recycle them yet again.. Here is one of them..



Jurgen's Shadow
I like to think I'm at the Center of the Universe,
That the cosmos revolves around me.
All it takes to burst this bubble,
Is for the phone to not ring.

The Inquisition tried Galileo for this crime.
It burned the scholar Bruno.
But they just displaced the Earth.
The silent phone displaces me.


OK I am going to write a new one. Let's see how this goes. I can never judge poems till after I forget writing them.
True Love
When I am down you lift me up.
You feed my soul and spirit.
You give me sensual pleasure
Take me to nirvana.
You can sooth me with sweet
And stir me with bitter.
You send me into orbit
True love, thy name is chocolate.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 03, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!