I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 01, 2016 - 11:30 a.m.

I Reject Your Reality

Yesterday was Monday so I made a bagel run with a Trader Joe's side trip. It was also Halloween and that didn't affect my day which is very sad. I wasn't in costume and didn't have any fun interactions with people in costume and I didn't eat any candy. That is a tragedy. I didn't even watch a horror movie. How did I forget that? I watched The Flash, my current binge watch; does that count? Why am I the only one of my friends that openly loves the show? On the down side, it challenges the Star Gate shows for stupid scientific doubletalk. I can also assure you that nobody can think up, design, and build from scratch, a complex electronic invention in hours as happens every single episode of the show.

I'm writing this before breakfast and coffee, is it showing?

The bagel portion of my journey went as planned, not so the Trader Joe's. When I got to the one at Union Square there was a line to get into the store. This is the second time I've seen that. I needed eggs for today's breakfast and wanted other things so I went to the Chelsea store. That store is always easier to deal with but not nearly as convenient for me to get to and from. I tried a new way of getting home from there. I took the back to Union Square instead of up to 59th street. It's only one stop and as I can catch the express is fewer total stops. Or it would be if there weren't delays on the express. When it came, it was packed like a sardine can so I ended up taking the local . It was early enough that at least it would run express in the Bronx. Except it didn't. Instead it crawled from stop to stop. It took me forever to get home. I was not a happy camper. On the bright side Jane had corn on the cob waiting for me when I got home. It was already cooked. Yummy. I ended up having peanut butter for dinner as it was late and I was feeling lazy.

I'm getting hungry now. I got used to eating earlier. That might make the entry shorter.

I have a page full of diary ideas, most of them are political. We're living in a political world to quote a Nobel Prize winner. But we are getting so much politics everywhere that I'd like to write something else. Also I don't want to imagine how people are getting mad at me for my opinions. That is the kind of thing I work on in therapy and I usually write those things anyway but today I'll take it easy. This will also be shorter.

There are people from alternate realities that sometimes slip into ours and live among us. How do I know? I listen to what people say. Some of these people are my friends. Now I don't want to single any of them out but these are all the types of things I have heard people say. Most of these are real but altered. They come from realities that are very similar but different than our own.

  • Someone was surprised to see that I put maple syrup on pancakes. She had never heard of doing that.
  • One person was shocked to find that I had the original remote control for my TV set. She thought that everyone didn't just misplace but permanently lost their remotes. This is the only one that I didn't alter at all.
  • A friend loved the Wizard of Oz, the book, didn't know there was a movie.
  • Another friend didn't think anyone cared about this election
  • A music lover knew the Wonder Who (the Four Seasons using a fake name) song,
  • Why Babe but didn't know it was a cover of Bob Dylan's Don't Think Twice

We could all go on and on about this. I bet some of you have stories about me like that. This is not people having outrageous opinions, it's people being unaware of things you thought everyone was aware of. It's also not about people not knowing about your passion. I am not surprised if someone doesn't know about Doctor Who. It isn't part of main stream culture. But even I know who Kanye is and that the Walking Dead had its season premiere lately. You have to work at avoiding these things, yet people manage to do it. My alternate reality theory is the simplest explanation.

OK now to make taylorhameggandcheese on a bagel. I'm going to be excited about having Taylor ham for a while.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 01, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!