I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 30, 2017 - 11:01 a.m.

Did You See The Movie This Blog is Based On?

Whoa, I had the magnification way up on Word because I had a bad vision day yesterday. It looks so weird when I can actually see. I might have set a record for how long the bad vision lasted yesterday. It's my cataracts. For years I had no idea what caused it. I still don't know the mechanism for the vision going in and out like that. I'd like to.

I once again didn't leave the house yesterday. This is getting bad. Well I will today; I have therapy and then the last Sunset Singing Circle with Terre Roche of the year. You should join me and not wait till next May. Wagner Park by Battery Park City at 7 PM. Be there or be rhombus.

I didn't leave the house but I did have entertainment. On the Thursday before the Fourth of July weekend New Rochelle has their fireworks night. You get a great view from our roof. Bernie and Jane invite people over to watch. My job was to stay downstairs so I can hear if people buzz to be let in. The Met game was on so that was not a burden. Well it wouldn't have been if someone had told me that the fireworks started earlier than I thought. I missed about four minutes, not too bad. Whoever does the pyrotechnics there knows their business. I am an aficionado of fireworks and these are done with artistry. Everyone else sat on seats that I had set up during the day. I sat on the bell tower because, hey, we have a bell tower. This building used to be a school.

I'm going to use one of the oldest items in my diary ideas list; Some people are from a different reality. I'm going to have to use some alternative facts here as I don't want the person I'm talking about to feel singled out. The friend said that zhe [third person ungendered personal pronoun] didn't know they made a TV show of M*A*S*H. Or maybe zhe said that zhe didn't know that Harry Potter was a book before it was a movie. The point an educated cosmopolitan person was not aware of something you feel everyone is aware of. I had a colleague that came into our office and said, "I just discovered this new cookie, it's called a Mallowmar." I think a friend of mine felt that way about me when I didn't know George Washington University. I knew someone that didn't know that people put butter on pancakes. Whenever there is a picture of pancakes you see the butter on top.

The only plausible explanation for these things is that they come from parallel earths which are just like our own except for one small detail. People might pass back and forth all the time and not even notice. Maybe you passed into a different reality and aren't aware of it. Everyone might know that M*A*S*H was a TV show but how often does it actually come up? You might be in a different reality right now. Were you unaware of any of the things I mentioned? Here are some other facts about this world; if you don't know one of them you are from a different reality.

  • Game of Thrones is a hit TV show based on the book series, A Song of Ice and Fire
  • The Secretary of Energy was a contestant on Dancing with the Stars
  • Hamilton the most acclaimed musical is based on a biography
  • Jerry Seinfeld bought the New York Mets
  • Paul McCartney was knighted.
Don't worry if you are in an alternate reality, you can still live a long and productive life. I just realized something. If you don't know one of those facts it might be because I'm the one that traveled to an alternate reality. As long as there is chocolate here and Jean Rohe keeps putting out platinum albums. I'm OK with it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 30, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!