I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 08, 2014 - 10:19 a.m.

Irish Eyes Are Smiling and So Am I

Time for another non-Falcon Ridge edition of Wise Madness. I really need to stop doing things till I finish writing about the festival. The problem is that I'm so up because of it. I want to be out and doing things.

Yesterday was perhaps my happiest therapy session ever. We basically talked about why Falcon Ridge makes me so happy. If I lived at the Festival I wouldn't need therapy or meds. Can't figure out how to make that happen. I might need a closet of white suits. Hard to keep them clean when camping.

After therapy I raced over to the Prospect Park Bandshell so I'd have a good place on line to see Altan (all TAN) and Maura O'Connell. I was getting my Irish up. I got there two hours later than I did for Nickel Creek but was still the third one on the line. I couldn't get anyone to go with me but I didn't let that bother me. I got friendly with the people in front of me. There was this great Irish couple. The husband had the same WfUV shirt I was wearing. We talked about Irish music and the station and Ireland and Queens and � I'm a bit social in case you hadn't noticed.

I grabbed the best seat in the house. Where is it? Second row on the aisle to the right of the sound booth. Why is that the best? There is no chair in front of it so I had tons of leg room. Also in the first row the fence blocks your view if you don't sit up straight.

After I grabbed my seat I went in search of food. I left my bag on my chair and told the women near me to slug anybody that tries to steal it. I'm very trusting, I didn't think twice of leaving it unattended. I had a chicken, chili, and cheese sandwich along with cheese frieds. It was very good. I then treated myself to a chipwich. I didn't need therapy food but I got it anyway.

I'm not sure if I had ever seen either of the artists. I'm pretty sure I saw Altan back in the 90s when I first got into Irish Music. I have albums by both of them but couldn't remember what Maura was like. She went on first and was less to my taste, more of a folk/pop singer. The songs that stood out were covers of Cheryl Wheeler and Nanci Griffith till she finished with "Ireland" which I know from her but is written by Greg Trooper. My tummy started to bother me as her set started. I was afraid of a Crohn's attack. I had the hard lump in my intestines. I kept thinking of leaving but decided to wait it out. I went to the bathroom near the end of her set and that helped.

Being sick and lack of sleep made me tired. That made listening to Altan interesting. I listened to much of it in the hypnagogic state. That is not a bad thing. It's the state you get in before you fall asleep. To me it feels like my brain and alternate realities are leaking into each other. So I listen to the music and have visions at the same time. It's not quite dreaming and I am aware of all the music. It is not dreaming. Altan is good music for that as much of it is incredible instrumentals, two fiddles, bouzouki, and guitar. Their bodhran/flute player's flight was delayed and he joined them for just the last few songs. There are vocals and they are gorgeous. They play my kind of music. That's my sweet spot. It is filled with energy and fit my good mood perfectly. And guess what my digestive problems cleared up and I danced.

The only people I knew there were Beverly and Morse. They were in the front section for members. I talked to Beverly during the intermission. She was looking for the WfUV table. They didn't have one. There were so many WFUV fans there as the Irish shows are the only place on the radio you can hear this music. It's how I know it.

After the show I was feeling totally energized. It was a Falcon Ridge booster shot. I walked with a bounce in my step to the subway. I'm still feeling good even though my tummy is still not totally right but the discomfort is gone.

Today I have to do laundry and go to Trader Joe's. It will be a day off from music before tomorrow's double header. I like being happy.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 08, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!