I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 10, 2012 - 12:55 p.m.

Alfa - Bits

I finally fought off the Chronoklepts and I'm ready to write. I had a lot of trouble with the Chronoklepts yesterday too. Today I have to write this, get some email business and research to do then I want to take advantage of this beautiful weather and take a walk before going to John Platt's On Your Radar tonight.

I used to have to always leave at least an hour if I was planning on doing something in the City. Last night I first got in the shower with 55 minutes before a show at the Bitter End in the East Village and still got there 15 minutes early. I love living in this neighborhood.

I went to Bitter End to see Alfa. I first knew Alfa as a journalist, not a musician. She interviewed Maura Kennedy and wrote a review her album Parade of Echoes. We met When Maura did a Notes from Home house concert. While Maura and I were talking to Alfa we found out that Alfa was a musician too. We checked her out at an instore and liked what we saw. I've been a fan and a friend every since. A year ago Alfa moved to LA so now it's an event when she plays in the City. I had to miss the last show I was delighted that I could make it yesterday.

When I first saw her she performed with a band and played keyboards. Last night she did almost all new material performed solo and on the guitar. The result was the same though, intelligent pop. If you don't pay attention you'd think catchy pop melody but if you do you get rewarded by discovering that the songs have depth.

Alfa greets me with a hug, plays fun songs with hidden depths and sing-along parts, has a charming stage manor and is drop dead gorgeous. You'd think she couldn't improve on that � but you'd be wrong. She found the way straight into my heart, she now plays the kazoo!

ALFA: "The Way You Look Tonight" from Alfa Garcia on Vimeo.

I had seen that video and meant to bring one of my kazoos with me to the show. I had it in my head even, then forgot it. It isn't easy not having a brain. Next time I'm getting to the show during sound check and bringing my electric kazoo so she can check it out.

I had only one complaint about the show. It was too short, only a half an hour. Good thing there wasn't a lot of travel time.

After the show I stopped by P.C. Richards and bought a window fan. It wouldn't do much when it was 95� like it's been but it's great for a day like today in the 80s. I now have my box fan blowing in one window and the window fan blowing out on another and I'm in the breeze connecting to the two.

When I got home I made my plantain/garlic/sausage soup. I made three variations from how I made it before. I used chicken andouille sausage because that's all that Trader Joe's has and Pathmark doesn't carry it at all. I used chicken broth instead of beef broth because he chicken was open and I had to use it before I went bad, and I used mixed Mexican cheeses instead of cheddar just for the heck of it. It was great. I love being able to cook again. I had garlic bread too.

Now I better eat and get my day started. I've been writing shorter entries lately. What's that about?

One more thing: There's a new quote at the top of the page the one by Poe.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 10, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!