I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 14, 2017 - 3:24 p.m.

You can will what you do but you can't will what you will

Very late start today, sorry. It was just made a little later because I got myself to get the mail I picked up yesterday out of my bag. I even got myself to open one of the letters. It was a wedding save the date as I expected so not scary. Remember how the last wedding I went to was my nephew's and it took place during Falcon Ridge? This one is the day of the best Festival Caramoor American Roots ever.

Evening Headliners / 7:30pm
Rhiannon Giddens
Sarah Jarosz

Daytime Artists
The Mike + Ruthy Band
River Whyless
Michaela Anne
Kaia Kater
The Lonely Heartstring Band
Spuyten Duyvil
Cole Quest & The City Pickers
The Brother Brothers
Eddie Barbash Band

For now on check your festival calendars when planning weddings! I'm being good. I have a friend that complains that people plan weddings on days there is going to be a football game. The only dates you need to exclude for me are Clearwater, Caramoor, New Bedford, and Falcon Ridge. The other 48 weekends are fine. There was a string of years where I had a wedding or Bar Mitzvah one day of Clearwater. That's is not so bad as I can go the other day. There's going to be a new festival, that I'm not at liberty to talk about yet, that you should also schedule around. The dates have not been set yet.

Red Molly has been posting for the last month, maybe more, that they were making a big announcement on Valentine's Day. People expected me know what it was and asked me. I didn't know and I didn't ask even though I own the Red Molly Facebook page. I was quite proud of myself for not taking advantage of my position and asking. I could have blackmailed them with kicking them off their own page if they didn't talk. But I didn't. All I asked in return was a pat on the back. Abbie refused! I'm still waiting to hear from Laurie. If I don't get my pat, you are going to see some alternative facts on the Red Molly page.

Red Molly to tour with Beyoncé

Red Molly picked for first mission to the Red Planet

George Lucas to direct Lego Red Molly Movie!

I get another pat in the back because I mailed the letter I had to mail yesterday while I was at the post office. I almost forgot about it because I'm an idiot. That wasn't anxiety, it was stupidity. Sometimes the call isn't clear, like many hit/error decisions. This time the ball was in the glove and bounced out.

One of my favorite musicians, posted about her anxiety today. I didn't know she was a fellow anxier, I just knew she was a great musician and person. I always feel connected when people discuss their anxiety. I'm glad she posted about it. Mental illness is nothing to be ashamed of and people shouldn't treat it as if it were. I would never pressure anyone else to talk about it. It's a personal decision, but I will give kudos where they are deserved.

I didn't mean to discuss mental health today but this reminded me of something else that's come up in conversation. I'm learning to be more accepting of other people's issues. It's not that I was unaccepting before, but there was room for improvement. When someone has issues, they might do things that are socially unacceptable but as it's far more difficult for them not to you must not be judgmental. If someone has a phobia about talking on the phone you have to accept that they didn't answer the phone, even in a situation where it was important to you that they do. If someone is ADHD and they get distracted, that's the nature of the beast, even if it inconveniences you. Friend 1 has a problem that other people are aware of. It caused friend 1 to react strongly to something. Friend 2 complained about it. Remember by default I use feminine pronouns. That has nothing to do with the people's actual sex.

Me: Friend 1 can't help it, she has _________.
Friend 2: I know but … "

There is no but. It's full stop after, I know. It even goes for things I disapprove of, a smoker having to take a break for a cigarette. It's not so easy to just put it off. It's an addiction. If you haven't smoked you have no idea what it's like. If you have smoked you still have no idea what it's like for that person. MRI didn't bother me at all, other people find it stressful. We don't know how others are experiencing things.

This was not what I planned on writing but now I've written too much to start on something else. I'm busy the next few days so I don't know when I'll be able to get around to it. My idea bin is full. If you want a taste of what I planned watch the season premiere of Last Week Tonight: with John Oliver The main story deals with the same thing. I had the idea first, John stole it from me. He must have hacked One Drive and read my diary ideas page. We need a congressional investigation on it. They can do it right after they investigate Flynn. I misspoke on Facebook. I asked who had three weeks in the "How long to a member of the administration resigns in disgrace" pool? It misspoke, it was 24 days. I could have sworn the inauguration was on a Monday. I was wrong. This is not fake news or an alternative fact. It's an honest mistake that I am admitting and correcting.

That's enough of a teaser of what I'm planning on writing. Tonight, I'm going to a protest at Washington Square Park then to see Caitlin Mahoney at Rockwood. The protest starts at 6 but Brianne, Dan, and I aren't getting there till 7. Come join us. It's by the Women's March people.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 14, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!