I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 01, 2014 - 1:56 p.m.

I'm One in Seven Million

I've killed almost two hours I better start writing if I want this done before class starts. Most people would find a 3-hour break between classes a hardship. I find it rushed.

OK, I better cut to the chase. As I pretty much live blogged about this yesterday. I signed up with the New York Health Exchange and now have insurance! Well OK I have to pay for it, I'm waiting for my bill. But I signed up. I beat the deadline but over an hour and a half! I'm Mr. Doesn't Procrastinate! I laugh at anxiety! OK, I forced myself to get it done and I did.

If I hadn't waited till the last day, and yes I'm proud of myself that it wasn't the last minute, it would have been easier. Everyone was using the site the same time I was so I kept getting messages that the site is busy try again later. I'm not sure if it's possible but it would have been better if they just gave you that once you got started and not as you went along. Every time it hit I had to renavigate the site. There should at least have been a choice, Pick up where you left off.

But that's all quibbling. The site was otherwise well designed. It autofilled what should have been autofilled and gave good instructions. I loved the tests they gave to make me prove my identity. It said "which of the following is an old phone number but none of them were! Some were close.

I got frustrated with the waiting but the real time reports on Facebook helped deal with that. In fact I'll copy and paste them here so I don�t' have to reinvent the wheel. Phrases in italics are after the fact annotations.

I'm an idiot. it says it's busy and to try again later

OK not an idiot but my issues are hurting me

Made it to the next page!

I love the id verification. It's actually clever!

Ugh I left off the cents on my income and wants to know why my amount is different than what my school says

It isn't confusing, just exacting and the web site is having issues

They really do design it for idiots; walk you through everything

Back to making progress

Picking a plan. a man and a canal panama As much as I mock myself saying things like that makes me someone I like

I'm up to checkout and it balked!

All runners advance a base Yes, this too

Just have to figure out how to pay my premium. It doesn't send me to the page

It says the insurer will contact me about payment

Now the best part; my plan includes psych therapy. What I save each moth will more than pay for the plan. The ACA is far from the system I'd design from scratch but it is far better than the nothing we had before. Oh and if you don't like that young healthy people subsidize sick people you better drop the coverage you get from work. It is how EVERY insurance system works. That's what insurance does. It spread risk. All the people that don't have fires insurance but don't have fires subsidize those that do. It's a fake argument made by the Koch's of the world. Don�t be their sucker. People die because they don't have insurance. Others suffer. I now that counts as nothing to some people having to pay higher taxes to the Scrooges of the world. I'm not one of them.

I want to thank all the people that gave me moral support through comments as I went through the process. Carolann, Terriann, Jake, Meg, Steve, and Mel, and all the people that liked the status and those that congratulated me afterward. I want to give special thanks to Carolann who has been gently nudging me for days. Nudging me is very difficult. There's a fine line between encouraging me and making me get an anxiety attack. She knows where it's drawn.

OK now let's go back to the rest of the day. I have things to write about.

I went to therapy. I spent half the session talking about what I enjoy the most and is easiest, my relationships with people, before easing my way into what was difficult but urgent, signing up for insurance. She helped me. I texted her when I was done signing up and got a thumbs up.

I knew I would have to steel myself so I indulged myself. I put those chocolate filled rods from Gunz. They were on sale 2 for 1! One box is gone. I knew I would need that. Then I went to the farmer's market and bought amazing apple cider, far better than anything I get in a store and cheaper and blue potatoes. I decided that as I've been eating home so much that eating out has become a treat and to treat myself. I went to Hog Pit NY. But the best decision I made was to walk there. The day was beautiful and I wish it were further. It was half a mile. I took pictures.


I am not sure if this is racist of folk art. No reason it can't be both. As the Indian is not portrayed negatively I don't think it is racist. If it were a cowboy would you say it was anti-cowboy?


That roof is real gold leaf. It's so thin and it last so long that's actually cheaper than painting.


Damon told me where this was. It's in a Serbian Church by Hill Country Chicken. I think 25th Street west of Braodway


Not a landmark but what a beautiful simple building


The back of the church. This could be medieval Europe


I loved these walkways as a kid. I still do.


Does anyone else stop and look at Horace Greeley? Go west young man!

Everyone New Yorker how lucky he or she is to live in a City of Marvels. It's a place to live and it's high art. A city is a machine to incubate civilization.

That was my inspiration for the day. I was thinking the other day how I have not been spending time with the friends that I have adventures with. But I have adventures by myself too. That simple walk was a journey through a land as fantastic as Lothlorien. Adventures are more fun when they are shared. Lewis had Clark, Frodo had Sam, Buttercup had Wesley. But adventures alone are adventures none the less.

I read that 7 Million people have signed up for the health exchanges, just about the target amount.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 01, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!