I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 22, 2017 - 10:16 a.m.

How Does Your Gardner Grow?

I am heading up to Southborough MA for Thanksgiving today and I haven't packed. I better get this written fast.

Abbie Gardner has a Tuesday night residency at Pete's Candy store this month but yesterday was the first time I could make it. That Abbie is worth a trip to the wilds of Brooklyn tells you how much I love her. She couldn't do this when I lived there?

I got there about 20 minutes early and found her sitting at the bar. That was good. What wasn't good is that the band on before her went on long. On the other hand, it gave us hang time. Waiting in tiny Pete's Candy store by ourselves felt like the old days; that was nice. Abbie is doing the residency to work on her live solo skills; it's just Abbie and slide guitars. I used the plural as she used a nut extender to transform her National into a slide guitar. So now she has a trans-slide and her cis-Dobro.

On her Facebook Abbie asked what people wanted. These were her choices: New songs? Old? Standup comedy or just recite my favorite recipes? My response was:

1. Recipes (not vegan)
2. Standup
3. New songs
4. Karate lessons
5. Old songs
I had forgotten her black belt is in Kung Fu not Karate. When she corrected me I amended my list. She did give a recipe; put the leftover dinner veggies in the skillet and frying the eggs right on top of them. She gave Kung Fu tips. Abbie aims to please. She did a song so new that it's not finished; last night was the only time it will ever be performed that way. It's a co-write, don't ask me with who, it's a friend. I'm not protecting the friend's identity, I forgot who it is. I'm an idiot. It's about being lonely, and the dobro is the loneliest instrument. All that's being rewritten is the lyrics, that's good, that's all that needed work. There's this thing she did the dobro that I loved; I called it punctuating the song. Abbie isn't sure she knows what I mean but thinks she does. It's a few little twangs for emphasis. It reminds me of when Bob Ross painting would look great and then he'd add one little line and the whole thing got even better.

Abbie has a new album coming out in January and is already working on the next one. I love the new songs and can't wait to hear both. She's bursting with creative energy. I'm going to see her next week too. Here's the big question, where were my Brooklyn peeps? Where were the old time Red Molly fans? I traveled down from City Island for the show and it was well worth it.

We made new friends, there was a guitar geek that Abbie talked to and a couple from Maine, David and Anna, we both talked to. They didn't know her, but David was so impressed he wants to arrange a gig in Portland for her. I love being around people discovering one of my musicians.

The lack of Redheads made me think how I miss being part of a fandom. I miss Frühead more than I miss Moxy Früvous. There are a lot of musicians I follow but no organized fan communities. I don't have religion; music fandom can fill part of that niche.

I was Abbie's Sherpa and she gave me a ride to the subway. The company was more important than the ride. I got a ride in the Matrix, the original Red Mollymobile. It looks brand new.

I forgot that the 4 was running local so I got off the 6 at Union Square to switch to it. Then I had to wait for the next 6 which left 12 minutes later. The one after that came two minutes after. It didn't cost me any time getting home as I'd have caught the same bus.

I was going to go sleep early but instead I stayed up extra late and watched last night's The Flash. I had been planning on watching it on the ride up to Boston. The problem with that plan is that it depends on the bus Wi-Fi working. Now I can sleep if the Wi-Fi doesn't work.

Now to make my breakfast. I am not cooking my eggs over veggies. I don't do veggies. They might be good over the plantains I cooked but there are no leftovers. I ate early last night, before I left. I tried the Aldi's frozen black angus burgers with bacon and cheddar. There's not quite enough fat in them, I have to be careful to make it rarer next time, but they tasted great. For breakfast I'm doing sausageeggandcheese on a hamburger roll I'm turning into garlic bread. Hey I'm decadent. Then I'll pack and head off to spend Thanksgiving with my twice-a-year family, Emily, Joe, and kids.

I'll leave you with a brand-new video by Rebecca Loebe. Many of those pictures are of my friends and family. Abbie, I said I'd send this to you. Consider it sent.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 22, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!