I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 25, 2007 - 1:17 p.m.

Rhapsody in Eyebrows

Last night I went to see the Bob Dylan Birthday show at Stony Brook's University Cafe. The show was a sell out and I didn't have tickets. Rich the sound guy told me he'd get me in. Then Charlie, who runs the show told me I couldn't go. I ended up at the top of the waiting list and got in with no trouble. I had to sit in the back but other than that it was fine. The Kennedys were the headliners. I am not used to having to see them playing peek-a-boo with the tops of people's heads. One thing that I realized is that I'm shorter relatively speaking sitting than standing. People that are three inches shorter than me have their eyes at the same level as mine when we are both sitting. People my height tower over me. That means I have trouble seeing over people's heads. The sound was fine though and I loved the show. My biggest gripe was that people weren't singing along. I applied pressure on those sitting near me by singing. I didn't sing in my usual sotto voice but at a medium volume. If they didn't want to hear my singing they'd have to sing louder to drown it out. It is amazing thing about group singing. Even though everyone in the audience is singing in their own keys it somehow manages to average out on key and sounds pretty good. It is actually easy to explain. The errors are random and tend to cancel each other out.

The other day I got a hit on my diary from somebody searching for Rhapsody in Uke. This entry was the only hit. I wondered why after all this time someone searched for it. I found out last night. When I went over to the merch table I saw a CD I hadn't seen before. It was the Kennedys aka The Stringbusters new all Uke album, Rhapsody in Uke. It was the second night it was on sale. You can't find it on their website yet. When the Kennedys do a Ukulele album it doesn't have typical ukulele fare on it. The songs are:

  1. Me, Myself, and I (Gordon, Roberts, and Kaufman)
  2. Holiday for Strings (Rose)
  3. Rhapsody in Blue (Gershwin)
  4. Getting Some Fun Out of Life (Leslie, Burke)
  5. Minor Swing (Reinhardt)
  6. Tiptoe Through the Tulips (Burke, Dubin) -OK you did expect that one
  7. He Ain't Got Rhythm (Berlin)
  8. Blackbottom Stomp (Morton)
  9. Bumble Boogie (Rimsky-Korsakov)
  10. My Old Man (Watson)
  11. Tiger Rag (LaRocca, Edwards, Ragas, Sbarbaro, Shields, Da Costa)
  12. Saber Dance (Katchaturian)
  13. Rain Kilikilhune (traditional)
  14. Noho Hula (Kennedy)
  15. Wai O'ke Aniani (Pahinui)
  16. Fire (Hendrix) – Move over Rover and let Pete and Maura take over
  17. A Shot in the Dark (Mancini)
  18. Symphony Number 5 (Beethoven) – Like that dog in the movie?

So it was of course a great night. Dylan is my favorite songwriter and you know how I love Pete and Maura.

I forgot to mention something really important in my last entry. Saburah made an important discovery on a poster in the door of a record shop. She saw an ad for a production of, hold on to your hats, are you sitting? Hedwig and the Angry Inch. It is being done by The Pirate Stage Company. You know I can't miss that. Who is going with me?

Tonight I'm going to be the sound assistant at The Minstrel Coffee House. We're About 6 are performing. They don't know that I'm going to be volunteering. Is Brian going to say, "Oh no! We wanted to sound good!" Oh yes, I'm trying to make "We're About 6" the official name for when Brian and Katie play without Pat. Do your part and refer to them that way.

My tummy isn't very happy right now. I hope it clears up before I go tonight. I won't eat until it does. It isn't sharp pain, just a bloated feeling.

OH yes something I've been meaning to write since SMAF. Jeremy, Kris's son, demonstrated the defining feature of my sense of humor. I said something and his first reaction was to laugh. His next was to say, "That's not funny." That is me in a nutshell. Nobody wants to admit they find my jokes funny. You've heard of highbrow humor and low brow humor. My jokes are the humor of the people that have the disease where you don't have eyebrows at all.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 25, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!