I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 14, 2014 - 11:06 a.m.

Come Hear the Music Play

OK, back to regular writing. This is one of the best parts of my life so I need it more when things aren't going well.

Heather invited me over for chocolate cake she had made so I went there after brunch. I knew timing would be awkward so I brought what I needed for the evening with me, my stadium seat. Why did I need that I was back for the second week in a row at Park Press Park for Woodbridge Wednesdays Summer Concert Series. This week's acts were the Kennedys and The Levins. They are both friends of mine which is not a coincidence. Bill that books the series is a musical kindred spirit.

I always think to myself that it's so easy to get there. I clearly grade on a curve. I took the to the to Penn Station where I took NJ Transit. It took about an hour and a half. Because I left when Heather had an appointment not when I needed to leave I was early. I got there well before the musicians. I used the time to talk to Katrina on the phone. That is till it started raining. There was just one cloud in the sky but it was directly over my head. There's some symbolism there. I took refuge by the stage. Then the Levins, Ira and Julia arrived followed shortly by Pete and Maura Kennedy. I hung out with them for a while, I like that neither was surprised that I hiked out to Jersey for the show. Of course the Kennedys know from personal experience that this was nothing for me.

So guess who did the merch? Yes the Godfather of Folk Music. That's what Katherine called me from the stage last week when Bobtown played there. Somebody there remembered and called me Godfather. I should have made him kiss my ring.

As I expected Jeff and Karen were there. They are always at Kennedys shows even when they are much further from their home in Jersey.




The Levins were up first. they did a song I love about 1970 sugary kids' cereal. I'd say they are my people but Julia's favorite was corn pops. what's with that? But the song mentioned Quisp and Quake so I'll overlook it. I have very strong opinions on sugary cereals.




This is my first time seeing a long regular Pete & Maura set in way too long. Last two times I saw them were Festival Sets at New Bedford and Nanci Griffith Tribute show at Rockwood Music Hall. This show had a lot of Nanci but a lot of their own music and other covers too. Just realized there was no Dave Carter song. Oh well can't have everything. I still automatically get happy when I hear Life is Large 18 years after I first heard it. I still get a thrill from Stand and I still stand when they come to the chorus. I actually didn't notice if anyone else did.

They performed a new song, Firefly which became an instant favorite of mine. I love when Maura uses her "Spooky Voice." It's as much a writing voice as singing, perhaps more so. Yes the Kennedys play as joyful music as anyone on the planet but there's a lot more to them. There's a lot of there there. It's why they are so much fun to talk to. There's no substitute for smarts.

Sales were pretty brisk and went on till shortly before I had to catch my train. the one problem there is that I don't have proper time to say my goodbyes. If I miss the 9:58 the next train isn't till 11:11. I'd have liked more time to speak with the performers both last week and this.

The ride home went smoothly. That's simpler, the New Jersey Transit to the all the way back to my house.

You can tell I'm feeling better than yesterday. I know a lot of people would have stayed home in my situation but I followed Sally Bowles' advice, "What good is staying alone in your room. Come here the music play!" That's what I did and I'm glad. I'd rather be unemployed and hearing live music than not employed and not hearing live music.

I could have kept quiet about it but I didn't. The problem with holding it in is that people wouldn't know why I was acting weird. This way I told them so they know what's gong on and then went on to my normal weird self. Not the weird weird self. That makes perfect sense to me.

I have to remember to not be Gollum brooding under the Misty mountains but Tom Bombadil singing "Hey merry dol derry dol ding a dong dillo" That's about as much sense as I usually make.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 14, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!