I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-02-06 - 06:50:47

Happy Days are Here Again

Life is good. The second law of thermodynamics wants to kill me, my life is far from perfect, but guess what? Life is good. When I woke up today my plan was to teach, go work for Chez, buy some t-shirts, and come home and make the Oliver's Army t-shirts for Car and I to wear on Wednesday.

Two great things happened at work. First I got a call from Monda. She is leaving for Mexico for a month and wanted to say goodbye to me. She told me that I had no idea how important I was to her, what a wonderful person I was. It made me go all squish inside. I complain so much about not being appreciated. If I do that again just thwap me.

Then I went online, which I totally shouldn't have of course. I was goofing off. I was rewarded for my sins though. In my email I found a response to my request for a Slaid ticket for tonight. Someone had an extra. Not only that she drove me to the show. Her name is Gloria and we went with her friend Barbara. I was a bit impressed that she invited a strange man she had never even talked to online to drive up with them. They were my kind of people though. They go to as many shows as I do.

The trip up was a bit of an adventure. There was a snowstorm here today. We got in a little fender bender before we got out of Manhattan. Then traffic came to a complete halt on the Palisades Parkway. The trip which takes a half hour without traffic, took us over two hours. We missed the opening act and the start of Slaid's set.

All of that was forgotten as soon as I sat down though. Slaid just gives the best shows. His songwriting is amazing and he does the best covers. Tonight he was sans band, he just had Oliver. Now Oliver is worth the price of admission by himself. As I've said in other entries Carey and I are part of Oliver's Army. Today I found out some new talents for Ollie. First of all he shoveled the walk and stoop in front of the Turning Point, the venue. He is from Chicago and misses the snow it seems. Secondly he did this great Sinatra-like version of a Slaid Song. Oliver is just the coolest thing on two legs.

We got lost on the way home. I always get lost going to or from the Turning Point, its part of the tradition. None of which took away anything from the evening. I had a great time and made some new friends too. One of the first entries I did here was about the magic of music. Today the magic was all around me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-02-06
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!