I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 28, 2015 - 1:00 p.m.

Murder on the Eastern Parkway Express. Well OK Not Murder

Every time I write this I start by switching Word to draft mode and "no spacing." Word thinks that when you hit return you should always skip two lines and that it's so unreasonable to not do that it won't let you make "no spacing" your default. People who design these things clearly have no friends. Oh right, they are software engineers, it goes without saying.

Why did I start like that? Because for the life of me I can't remember what I wanted to write about. I had something brilliant last night and it's utterly gone. It is hard not having a brain.

Yesterday was therapy. I had a very eventful week and took an emotional beating. I planned things out and spoke very fast so I could fit the five hours of material into 55 minutes. I'm actually only given 45 but I went over. I usually go over by five minutes. I talk a lot. You might have noticed that.

I am running through my day to see if anything exciting happened. I found something. I went up to my PO Box and remember to buy Breathe Rite Strips at Walgreens. No that's not the exciting news. I have something even more exciting than me remembering something. Then I headed home. When I switched trains at Atlantic Terminal I had trouble getting on the . The guy in front of me stepped in the car and not only stopped dead as soon as he was inside but he took his jacket off and moving his arms left me no room to get in. I said, "Please move in." He said, "Move around me." By that time I could just squeeze by but was angry at his solipsism. My reaction was sarcasm. I told him that he obviously doesn't know it but people can't just walk through him. His reaction was threats. He said he was going to rip my glasses off and then went into things that I couldn't quite make out. Everyone around us got very uncomfortable as he was loud and making threats. I slipped further in the car and avoided eye contact. It was a crowded but not packed train. I actually ended up moving closer to the door we had to exit from. There are only two stops to the end of the line, Utica, where I live. I got a seat for the last stretch. I was still worried about him and if he'd make trouble when we got off so I took a picture of him without him noticing. I figured if he tried something I could show it to the cops. He didn't do anything. I of course got off faster than him as he was at the door that opened on the wrong side.

That was the exciting part. It's all downhill from here.

I told you that both the kitchen and bathroom lights were out and I was being driven crazy. I told my landlady that I can't shave or brush my hair and showering is difficult and cooking is difficult and would greatly appreciate it if they were fixed. The kitchen has been for weeks. Yesterday her husband fixed them. It just meant putting in new florescent bulbs. It was so nice to be able to see. I was able to enjoy making dinner. I made cajun chicken for the first time in a while and boiled potatoes. Boiled potatoes are boring till you add the garlic salt. Then they are scrumptious.

Then I got to talk to Brianne on the phone. She has done a wonderful job picking up the Budgiedome ball that I dropped. She sent out the schedule and now we are just waiting to hear back from everyone. Yay. She said that everyone was so nice to her. That's what always happens. I get afraid everyone will get mad at me for procrastinating but the musicians are always great about it. I am so proud of the Budgiedome, it is appreciated. I get to work with great friends and I think that's part of what the musicians like. They know they are dealing with a community that loves and appreciates them and each other. Oh and Brianne and I look good doing it. That's what I told her but I should add so do LORi, Steve, and Paul aka Tony Stark.

I just remember what I wanted to write about but realized you have no interest in it and I lack the expertize to do it justice. So I'll just let you know what it was I was thinking about, the minimum wage. It's far too low. Since it has to be raised manually and congress is loath to do it it's lagged in purchasing power and ratio with the median income. There's lots of talk about raising the national minimum to $15/hour. I'm all for it but now I'm having some economic doubts. Not that it needs to be raised or the moral and economic validity of a minimum wage. But if $15 is what's needed in New York it is more than is needed in Mississippi where the cost of living and median wage is far lower. And it's what's needed in Mississippi then New York needs more. We let the states set their own minimums but the states with the lowest incomes are also the ones most loath to raise the minimum for ideological reasons. What we really need is a national rule to determine the local minimum wage based on the local economy.

Oh I actually wrote it. Damn. Now I lost all my readers. But there's a greater point. We shouldn't base policy on simple slogans and ideas easy to convey to the uninformed. Complexity isn't an inherent evil. Yes things can get too complex just as they can be too simplistic. The trick is to make choices based on what's best in the particular situation not ideology.

OK I have a lot to do today, Budgiedome business, getting a few camping supplies, and laundry. If needs be I can do laundry tomorrow. Now I have to find my NERFA program, I need to call a musician that hasn't responded to emails and her number is in there. But first I'll eat.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 28, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!