I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 24, 2003 - 1:27 a.m.

Now here's my victory point

Life was back to normal for me today. I called the insurance company in the morning, made my claim, and made and appointment to get the estimate for the repair. Then Roy picked me up to play in a bridge tournament in the City. It was held two blocks from Penn Station so we took the LIRR there.

The event was a Swiss team. I usually like team events more than pair events. The only problem is that we needed another pair. We went to the pairing desk and they hooked us up with Steve and Barbara. They have far more master points than us but were willing to join us. Steve asked us the right question, if we were an established partnership. Total masterpoints don�t tell the story.

The way a Swiss team works is that two teams play head to head. At one table Roy and I sat East-West and at the other Steve and Barbara sat North-South. We play the same seven boards then compare the scores. You play eight rounds like this each against a different team. You get victory points each round, the amount depending on how well you do. All day we kept losing by a little bit except for two rounds that we won by a bigger amount. At the end of 7 rounds we were a bit below average and I figured we had no chance. On the eight round we rocked. I bid two close slams that made and we won huge. We got 20 victory points out of 20. That was enough to propel is to 4th place in Strat B. We really had a good time.

Just as important as winning was that Steve and Barbara were great. They never complained when we screwed up and know that the important thing is to have a good time. They are our kind of people. Steve is a transplanted Canadian, from Ottawa. He lives in Jersey now but was wearing his Senator�s sweater as his current home town team, New Jersey Devils, were defeating his former home town team.

I�m not sure what my plans for tomorrow are. I�m not going to drive up to see the Kennedys in Bridgeport. I might take the LIRR into the city and see what�s going on. I know I�ll try and give calls to Carey, Leah, and Stacey.

I want to thank my friends for being so supportive. I�m really very lucky.

Today�s quote is a Cornish prayer:

From ghoulies and ghosties and long-leggety beasties

And things that go bump in the night, Good Lord, deliver us.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 24, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!