I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 07, 2013 - 9:42 a.m.

Flowers at Four O'Clock!

Can you believe that it's 8:43 on a Saturday and I've eaten breakfast, showered, and now I'm writing? Neither can I but apparently it's true. I guess this could be a dream, in which case you will never read this. I have leave here by 10:06, preferably before 9:58 so I wanted to get up early. I didn't set an alarm, My body did it on its own. I don't know how that works. Of course it's my brain not my body. Yes I admitted it, I have a brain. So Carey gets all the credit. If you haven't known us since maybe 2002 you won't get that but that doesn't mean I'm going to explain it.

I got so involved in writing yesterday's blog that I was late for class. But perhaps because I posted it late not many people read it. So you should do that now. I think it's one of my best.

Now that the shameless plug is over I'll go on to writing new things. I had some time to kill after I left school so first I grabbed a peanut butter bagel and Caf� Europan then took a walk in Central Park. I will not tell you what part I went to. I'll show you.

Museum of American Folk Art for their Free Music Fridays series. I missed it most of the summer but it's how I often spend early Friday evenings when I'm at school. It's curated and hosted by the lovely Lara Ewing. Since I didn't have other plans I'd have gone no matter who was playing, I trust Lara's taste, but in fact I did know, it was The Four O'Clock Flowers. I had seen them once before at the very last show at the Gaslight. I wrote at the time that I needed to see them again and should invite them to the Budgiedome. So I was very happy to see them again.

Lara introducing Samoa and Ernie

The Four O'clock Flowers is the duo of Ernie Vega and Samoa Wilson. They do a mixture of blues and jazz and argue between themselves if it is blues or jazz. They throw in old time folk and gospel. It's real roots music. As I explained to my classic radical means root in Greek so it's rad. I live in the folk world but I so rarely get to hear the real thing.

There was an overflow crowd at the show,. I'm glad I had the time wrong and got there early so I got my seat in the front row. As you can see there were people sitting in the next room, There were far more on the steps on the other side.

OK what does Ernie's hat remind you of? Think for a moment. I immediately thought one thing. "You're hat looks like dessert!" Yes I said that to someone I didn't know at all. He responded "Tiramasu, right?" I knew he was one of my people. He went to Queens College like me. The one thing it is famous for is teaching hat/dessert comparisons.


lap slide

How did I manage to not take any pictures with his great 1930s vintage guitar? Oh right I'm an idiot. Know why I forgot that? I'm an idiot. it explains so much.

After the show I introduced myself and bought their limited edition EP, there are only 50 copies. I sent them Facebook invitations while I was still there; the wonders of those pocket computers they call phones.

I went from there to Trader Joe's then home to make dinner. Yes I made dinner. I cooked up a few of the andouille sausages I had in the house and roasted some potatoes I picked up. I have not made roasted potatoes in ages. They are so good. I want to try roasted plantain. My theory is that you can cook a plantain any way you cook a potato. Guess what I had to drink with it? Right, an egg cream. If you look at th4 right way life is good.

today I'm off to the Take Me to the River Fest in Hastings. I better get moving.

I almost forgot the slideshow:


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 07, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!