I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 12, 2015 - 2:39 p.m.

Hand Hand Hand Hand

I'm starting this late. I hope that doesn't mean it's too late for all of you to read this. Of course if it is then you aren't reading this and I can just stop writing. Not going to happen so I'll work under the assumption that you are reading this. In fact I know that you are reading this.

That's pretty much how my mind works all the time.

Last evening, I can't call it light the sun was shining when it was over, I went to see the Four Hand Band CD Launch Party. The four hands belong to Sasha Papernic (pap-er-nic) and Alexander Wu, two hands a piece. The name refers to four hand piano, two pianists on one instrument. I'm not sure if I've ever seen it live. I might have back in grad school When I saw Emmanuel Ax and two other pianists perform at a physics lecture. I can't put it together with which physicists was speaking, somebody great. I have been to a lot of physics lectures. Lauren where you there? You remember this? The music was an outstanding bonus.

The show was at the Cornelia Street Café. That's a great intimate space. It's very easy to get to so easy to time. Doors were at 5:45 and I got there at 5:38. Google thought it would be 5:36. When I walked in the door I saw Tara, or she saw me. Whichever it was I joined her upstairs till doors opened. They are both part of a musical circle that also includes the Amigos. Not surprising as Sasha is married to Amigo Justin Poindexter. Sasha and Justin both back up Tara at times. Yes it's all incestuous. We were soon joined by Richard, he's a photographer. Things ran a little late but we still were in our seats before 6:00, told you it was an early show. The system there is that you get $10 towards dinner or drinks so decided it's more cost effective to eat dinner there as I don't drink $10 worth of anything. Yes I must report on food. I had a burger and fries. The food's good.

The music was great. They played a combination of classical and Broadway. Well one Irving Berlin song, Russian Lullaby might not have been in a play. One piece, was not adapted but written for four hands, Poulenc's Sonata for Four Hands . That adds a dimension. There is not just the music but a dance, performed by the hands. I could not keep my eyes off the keyboard. It's fun to watch all the pieces but this was designed to interweave the hands. So there's great music, and choreographed hands. But there's more. They are fun people. One of them stands up before each piece and introduces it. There was also a quiz. Alexander asked what George Gershwin's birth name was. I didn't know. I was surprised I didn't have a vague notion of it. He said it was Gregor Gershowitz. But I just checked on Wikipedia and it says that his father changed his name from Gershowitz to Gershwine (pronounced Gershvin) and George's birth certificate says "Jacob Gershwine." Do any of you know about this? Ira's birth name was Israel. Bonus question, what's Irving Berlin's birth name?

They performed the entire album in order plus a bonus, Take the A Train

I could tell you what they played but I can do something even better. Embed their entire album here so you can listen.

The Washington Post said, ""Wu and Papernik are an uncommonly attractive and entertaining pair." So I guess I should show you pictures.

After the show I of course stayed an hung out. It was hot yesterday and went I left the air conditioning wanted something cold. And guess what. The Cornelia Street Café is all of a block from Cones. So I went there. Twice in one week! So once again I had a night of friends, music, and ice cream. Count that as a win.

When I got home I watched two episodes of Game of Thrones. I'm catching up. I have guesses where things will end up. So I obviously like the show. I'm hooked and watching it. But there are still things that bother me. It takes way too long to get anyplace. The entire first season is backstory and could have been compressed into three, maybe one episodes. If Tolkien had taken the same approach as Martin it would have been nine books. Instead of fast forwarding 17 years after Bilbo's farewell party it would have told in detail the story of the hung for Gollum, the fall of Osgiliath, Balin going to Moria, and all of Gandalf's doings. Every battle in every part of the world during the War of the Ring would have taken place onstage instead of told briefly second hand. One of the great things that Tolkien did was keep a consistent point of view. Virtually everything on stage occurs with hobbits in the scene or close by The only exception is tale of Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli after the breaking of the fellowship. And of course the hobbits would have had plenty of time to hear that story direction from them. There is no emotional center in Game of Thrones .

I better get this posted or nobody will read it and people need to read it. Most of My Gentle Readers don't know of Wu & Papernik and they should.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 12, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!