I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 16, 2016 - 10:38 a.m.

It's Free, There's Music, and it was Friday

Hey I'm starting to write before 10 AM; that counts as a victory. Now let's see if I can finish before 11:00. I spend 116 of my waking life blogging. I should blog about blogging more. Hey I just did.

I had a revelation about myself at breakfast. That should not surprise you. I do write a lot about food. I made a ham and cheese omelet. I made it perfectly. I bought garlic salt so now I can do proper cooking. I did what I always do, finished my breakfast, left the table and drank my coffee someplace comfy. Here it's on the couch. When I was done I did clean up, that's easy here as we have a dishwasher. When I went over to the table to get my plate I immediately relived the pleasure of eating the omelet. It's sort of the reverse of Proust's madeleines. It's something I do, and not just about food. I vividly relive good sensory memories. There's a lot of things about my psyche that I hate but there are some that I love. I'm sure we are all like that. Mmm I'm tasting the omelet now.

Yesterday was Friday and I didn't have plans so I did what I do when I don't have plans Friday night, I went to Free Music Fridays at the American Folk Art Museum. It's free, there's music, and it's early, 5:30 - 7:30. It's curated by the Lara Ewen who has excellent taste. I didn't know any of the performers but went anyway.

I tried a new way of going there. I took the to Hunts Point Ave, left the subway and walked 7 minutes to the and took that down the West Side. The museum is across the street from Lincoln Center. It took about the same amount of time.

Going to a show where I don't know who is playing is a different experience. It's curated so it's not like going to an open mic. The people playing will be good but that doesn't mean that I'll like them. I don’t' like most acts. I used to do this quite a bit. I'd go to Café Sine or the Sidewalk Café and see whoever was playing. Most of the people went in one ear and out the other but there are some I became fans of. Last time I went to FMF I discovered Vincent Cross. This time I didn't become a fan of anyone but I enjoyed the show. One guy did the playing lead and rhythm guitar simultaneous thing. Not as well as Richard Thompson of course but it still sounded like two guitars.

I decided to have the $5 two-piece chicken meal from KFC that I liked so much when I had it in the east Village. I checked on my phone for the closest one. It was at 50th and 7th so I walked down there. The exact same meal was $8.75! I didn’t get it. There was a Nathan's at the same place and I ate there. The cashier threw in bacon and cheese on my fries for free! Does that mean she thought I was cute? Please say yes. My birthday is next week.

I had nice timing with the trains coming home but the MTA website said that the bus was a long way off. So I went to Baskin Robbins and tried out a new flavor, Oreo Birthday Cake. It looked better in the canister than it did on the cone. It was good but nothing special. What was special was my timing. The bus arrived as I was walking back to the stop. I didn't have to run. I just walked and got on with no wait. Of course then there was something wrong on the access road to City Island and traffic came to a stop. Police cars came by and then it opened up. I didn't see what happened.

Hey I'm finished at 10:35. That's because this is just half the length of my usual entry. I could write about current events and I'm tempted to but not today. Today I'll keep it simple and get to my breakfast, sausageeggandcheese on a bagel.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 16, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!