I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 28, 2015 - 11:55 a.m.

Cloning Around

Dateline Southborough: I have two cups of coffee in me, one with foamed milk; the Bumper Jacksons are playing on the stereo, I should be able to write now. Let's see how that works out.

As you can see from the dateline I'm still at Emily and Joe's. I'm now doing my job getting ready for tonight's second Thanksgiving, I'm keeping out of everyone's way. Yes I'm very good at self-justification. I'm forgetting my new name for myself, I found a nicer thing to say than parasite or tapeworm. If I wasn't an idiot I'd remember what that was. I could compare myself to the angels of the lord that Lot took in. I'll be more accommodating than them. If beautiful women come outside and demand that I come out so that they can know me; I'll willingly go to them

We ended up staying in all day yesterday. After dinner we watched Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones. Then after the kids went to sleep we watched the commentary on the movie which takes just as long as the movie. There's lots of interesting things in it but like many of the Star Wars characters the creators like to whine; "Doing this was so hard!" I never watch these "extras" which I should perhaps change, I enjoyed them.

As you might have picked up over the years I have a lot of issues with the Star Wars franchise; so many things don't make sense. There is one thing in Episode II that I can't believe that everyone doesn't comment on. In Episode 1 the actor playing Anakin is eight years younger than the one playing Padme, Natalie Portman was born in 1981 and the actor playing Anakin was born in 1989. In Episode 2 they are the same age; both born in 1981. Anakin was far too young to for Padme and they just made believe that their ages were different in Attack of the Clones.

On another note, which Republican candidate is Jar Jar? He is clearly one of them. We all know that Darth Sidious is Dick Cheney. Yeah people say he's Darth Vader but that's wrong, he is not the apprentice.

This morning while making my eggs I went over to play with one of the kids, got stuck on the fly strip, got totally distracted and burnt my eggs. I always make my eggs perfect. How did that happen? Oh right I'm an idiot.

What else is there to write about? Oh yes the super duper magic espresso machine. It comes from a company that went out of business. I don't know why as it is magic. You put the beans in and it grounds them as needed. All you do is push a button and coffee is brewed almost immediately. We have not figured out how to make actual espresso yet, there are no instructions, but on demand fresh coffee is pretty awesome. There are no environmentally unfriendly pods to deal with and the coffee is better. In a civilized world this machine would be worshiped as a god. Lori not LORi, you agree, right?

As Tolkien observed while writing about Rivendell, times that are peaceful and enjoyable are not good to write about. So that's what's going on with me. I'll not force things and keep this short.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 28, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!