I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 30, 2014 - 3:25 p.m.

BAJes, We Don't Need No Stinkin'

Late start writing today. I should be eating now but the water is cut off. If I faint from hunger that's why.

The deadline for paying my ACA insurance premium was today. I beat it by an entire day! The company's website did not make it easy. I got my bill via snail mail, not email. I was told that I could play online. I looked for the link on the bill it wasn't there. On the bottom of the page in minuscule print it gave the URL of the website. I went to the website and after considerable searching I found a link to where you pay your bill. It asked for my account number. There were not enough spaces in the field to put it in. There was a help phone number so I called that. He started to explain how I can't use that page because the account number field didn't have enough digits. I said, "I know, I just told you that, it's why I called." He directed me to a different website with a totally different URL. It was a totally different website not a different page on the same website. Once there they didn't ask for my account number just my name and last four digits of my social. I gave it and it let me pay, but, there are a lot of buts coming. Nowhere did it tell me what I owed. I needed the paper bill in front of me. It looked like someone just slapped it together in a few minutes. I never hung up with the guy on the phone. I asked if there were a way to set up autopay so I don't have to do this every month. He told me no. I told him that it would be a good idea if they had it. He came back with a smarmy, "Don't you think we know that?" I said, "No, because if you knew that you'd have already set it up. Don�t' tell me this is new, you've had years to prepare for this." He was terrible

The important thing is though that I've got it done. Even though it took me so long I was late for therapy. I wouldn�t; have been if I hadn't reached the subway and realized I left my credit card home. And hen when I got back to the subway I just missed the train.

An interesting thing about therapy is that part of the benefit simply comes from knowing I have to prepare thing to tell the therapist. I try to tell her what I do not what happened to me, that's gives me a different perspective. This week came out sounding positive even though I have been sad.

I had an awkward amount of time to spend after therapy. it was 5:30 and I had to get be at Hill Country Brooklyn at 8:00. I could spend two of the hours going back and forth to home but that seemed wasteful. So I decided to give myself therapy ice cream. I found a new place on Google, Sundaes and Cones on 10th street. It was great I had sundae with chocolate peanut butter and mocha chip ice cream, hot fudge, peanut butter sauce, and topped with whipped cream. What I particularly loved is that they keep their ice cream softer than most places. It was a mush, just like I like it. It was also one of the few times I didn't regret not getting only chocolate. the mocha was magnificent. Yes I know mocha has chocolate in it.

I still had time to kill so I walked the neighborhood

I went into the costume shop on 4th avenue and saw Carey.


You really don't want to know why that's Carey.

I went to the strand and got a copy of The Silmarillion as I need my Tolkien handy. I sat a bit in Union Square and texted a friend. Then around seven I go on the subway. I saw this graffito on the steps.

See LORi not even cats like cats. There was a totally unrelated graffito right after the word "cat." It just said "calls."

Next I was off to Hill Country Barbecue Market in Brooklyn. Wasn't I just there you might ask? I was but once again I went to see music, Brian Ashley Jones. I had only seen Brian ant NERFA before yesterday He impressed mw with his music and we had a great discussion on the Civil war at 4 AM. Yes you do that at NERFA. Well OK, I do that at NERFA. Obviously Brian does too. I think there might be a few people at NERFA that wouldn't. They are weirdos.

I walk in and ask for a table by the stage as I was there to hear the music. The host put me a table not near the stage. I said, There was nobody at the tables closer to the stage. This was about 20 minutes before showtime He told me that he couldn't put me closer and muttered something about bar seats. I wasn't at the bar. I didn't want to be at the bar. I wanted to be near the stage and don't know why I couldn't be. I got my food which was delicious. There was a special, brisket, chicken, a rib, a side, and cornbread. Yum.

When the music was about to start the tables near the stage were still empty so I moved over. the waiter was fine with it. It's where he brought my check. He brought me water. When I thanked him for letting me sit there he said, "why wouldn't I?" Exactly, so why didn't the host?

Brian had a three piece band, he played electric guitar, someone whose name I forgot played electric bass and Jagoda played drums. I can see so poorly now I didn't recognize Jagoda till he was introduced. I hate being blind

I met Brian at a folk conference. That might lead you to believe that he plays folk music. He doesn't. As the instruments might have suggested he plays rock. And he's very very good. I was bopping along to the music. Some of it had a country rock sound. Some felt like it could be from the 50s. One had a lot of jazz influence. I loved it all. I was going to only stay for the first step but I couldn't leave till the music ended.

I almost forgot the pics.


It took a special filter to get those cool sunbeam effects. It was homemade, here's how to make it.
  1. Go to a barbecue restaurant.
  2. Get your hands covered in grease and barbecue sauce.
  3. Touch the lens

I used my glasses cleaning kit to remove the filter and got these.


Jagoda


Using the slide the pic in the mouth.

Almost three hours later the water was back on and I am drinking my coffee. I did break to make breakfast without it. That is cruel and unusual punishment.

OK. Now I can shower and get out of here so I better finish writing this.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 30, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!