I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 27, 2013 - 10:07 p.m.

Zoe-ology

I have a lot to write about. Maybe I'll stick to what happened on Saturday and write about today, Sunday tomorrow.

On Saturday I had to be a WfUV at 7:30 AM. That is nice timing for the subway and MetroNorth. I love that Google Maps gives me the times for the subways, they don't run that frequently at that early on a Saturday. I had to be at Grand Centreal station at 6:55 to catch my train. I love observing other commuters. We got to Grand Centreal at something like 6:50, at least that's when I emerged from the subway. In my mind that meant I had plenty of time to buy my ticket and make my train. A woman got off he the same train I did and felt the need to run to the platform. She ran past the ticket machines so she clearly already had a ticket. There are many ticket machines so there is no way you have to wait at that time. As it was a weekend I could buy a City Ticket which is cheaper but must be bought the day you use it. I did and walked over to the train with plenty of time to spare, a minute and a half. I'm in the station so nothing can really delay me and I didn't feel rushed at all. Yet that woman felt the need to run even though she went straight to the train. Was she worried the train would leave early?/ That never happens.

Saturday mornings is Irish programs, M�le F�ilte and A Thousand Welcome. We were understaffed at first so I was busy on the phones. I was also busy because for a change I wasn't supervising. The station wants to let other people become experienced at it in case Jim and I can't make it. The way I put it was, 'in case I died." When Cara looked at me in shock I said, "I could get hit by a meteorite!" It really doesn't bother me talking about me dying, it won't make me die. And know what? At some point I am going to die. I'm not afraid to face that fact.

So Colleen supervised and I supervised her supervising and took phone calls. I'm friends with pretty much all the other supervisors. They are all my people.

Saturday is my short shift, 7:30 to 1:00. I don't know why but I was tired and fell asleep. Colleen let me sleep. I always take pictures of Jim when he falls asleep, Good thing he wasn't there.

When it was over I had an awkward amount of time on my hands. I had to be in Hastings at 6 PM which meant taking a train at 5:20 from Grand Central.. It takes me an hour and a half to get back home from the station. I decided to go to my office. That worked out well as nobody else was there. I was even able to take a nap. Then I went back to Grand Central and up to Hastings. I was there to see Zo� Lewis at Common Ground. That's part of Carter's vast folk empire and he picked me up at the train station. I did merch for Zo�. She's one of my people and has even played my house. Back when I had a house.

Zo� is an amazing performer. She's someone I feel safe in recommending to anyone. How good is she? Two couples came down from Albany for the show. She's worth traveling for. She's not just a great musician and songwriter she's a great entertainer. She radiates fun.

I will always think of her as Christine Lavin with toys, he way Carey and I first described her when we discovered her at Falcon Ridge but she's so much more than that. I'd enjoy her music if the lyrics weren't funny. It's had elements of latin, jazz, and English music hall. She's English so the latter isn't unexpected.

She's also one of those people that just make you feel good about life. She's not a Pollyanna but she sees what's worth celebrating and celebrates it. In other words do NOT miss her.

Julie said that I love everything. But that's so far from the truth. I think almost everything is mediocre. But I only see what I love. And I write about the best of what I see. But the last thing I want you to think is that you can discount when I rave over someone. I rave about the people that are special.

Even up Westchester I'm going to know people. In fact I'm an honorary citizen of Carter's Westchester Folk Empire. SoI knew my fair share there, Peter, Barbara, Jay who did sound and the ever present people I forgot.

Barbara was able to give me a lift back to the train which mean I could get home earlier without dragging Carter away. I still got back after midnight and as I had to get up at 6:03 so once again I did not get enough sleep. I did better today than yesterday though. But I'll write about that tomorrow.

I finished Dodger by Terry Pratchett. I'm so happy to be reading again. I thought it would be Fantasy but it isn't. It's pretty much a straight historical novel. Pratchett calls it "historical fantasy" because he plays a little with the dates but plenty of more serious historical fiction does that a lot more than he does. He just has high standards of accuracy. It's filled with historic people some of which I was aware of and others that I wasn't. Here's some of them. How many do you know? If you read it you should check out each's article in Wikipedia. It takes place in the first third of the reign of Queen Victoria, who is a character.

Charles Dickens
Henry Mayhew
Angela Coutts
Sir Robert Peel
Benjamin Disraeli
John Tenniel
Joseph Bazalgette
Sweeney Todd also make an appearance but he's hardly historical

I like myself more when I am reading. I don't know if reading makes you a better person but I makes me feel like a better person. I'm now on another Pratchett Book Pyramids: Discworld #7.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 27, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!