I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 01, 2017 - 6:48 p.m.

WWV is not a rival to the WWE

I have not been hearing enough music. I am grading on a curve. Last night I did something about it I went to see A World of Women's Voices, the collaboration of Bev Grant, Sharon Goldman, and Villa Palagonia. The show was at Rockwood Music Hall and I was doing merch, this was very much a home game.

They were out of both Taylor's ham and the inexpensive ham I get at Stop & Shop the other day so I went to get the inexpensive ham I get at Trader Joe's. They were out. argh. If I couldn't get cheap I got fancy, mortadella with pistachio nuts in it. Then I was off to the show.

I had great timing, I arrived the same time as Joe and Allison, Villa Palagonia; I was able to help them in to the venue with all their instruments. They have a lot of instruments. The "I'm with the band" thing works particularly smoothly when you are carrying the instruments.

Bev and Sharon were already there. I got my hugs and gave Bev some things from Jane. Jane and Bernie went to the Climate March in DC and stayed with a friend in Baltimore. After the march, they went to a concert timed to go with the March. On the program were a friend of Bev and a different performer sang a song of hers.

It was a home game so I had friends there, Elisa & Jon, Carolann, Shannon, and a player to be named later. It was at Stage 3 so I took my usual seat. Who knows where I it is? It's front row house left. It works very well for picture taking. I took pictures but for the most part with Bev's phone. I brought my camera but didn't get a chance to buy batteries for it. I found a battery charger in the house today. There are batteries in it and I have four rechargeable batteries. All I have to find now is the DC converter for it. Or am I looking for an AC converter? After that I'll be back in the photography business.

I love this show, it's not just entertaining, though it is, but it's an education. Pay attention and you'll learn about Sicily, Jewish history and traditions, the labor movement, and feminism. It is these similar themes that brought the three of them together. It could be a Ted talk or an educational presentation. Hey, Lori not LORi I found the next act to book at your school. I want to see them do it with PowerPoint.

This is not a band, they each do their own songs and help out on the others. The only purely joint venue is their cover of Jean Rohe's Arise Arise: National Anthem. They close with that. I always want to stand at attention with my hand over my heart when I hear it.

There is also an element of friends having fun together; the same feel you get with the Four Bitchin' Babes and No Fuss and Feathers. Know why? Because they are friends having fun together.

After the show, I stayed and hung out with my friends. Sadly no one lives in the same direction as me so I headed home by lonesome. I like my new practice of walking to the instead of taking the one stop and transferring. When the weather is nice the walk is, pleasant and gives me a chance to stretch my legs after sitting all that time.

The reason I didn't update this morning is that I slept late and then had to head up to the hospital I see my psychiatrist at to pick up my meds. As long as I remember to pick them up while I'm there that's very convenient. When I forget, like I did last week, not so much.

The reason I slept late is that my digestive system has not been happy. I'm not having a Crohn's attack. I just have to run to the bathroom frequently. In the last two and a half day about 15 times. That's just a rough guess. That is draining, uncomfortable, and a bit painful. What's worst is that it was my own fault. This is where mental and physical illness meet. I ate half a jar of peanut butter straight out of the jar. That always racks havoc on me. So why did I do it? One teaspoon is fine. The problem is that I find it hard to stop myself. This is why I avoid drugs. I know my weaknesses.

Tomorrow I'm off to New Jersey to record two radio shows with Brian. There are lots of problems with being me but there are benefits too. I get to go on the radio. I get to write musicians and say, "Hey I'm going to be on the radio in a few days and I would like a digital copy of your new album." And they send them. Every time I do a show I'm taken aback at how great the music is. I only play the best of what I get. The last one I got was Harpeth Rising's new album, Against all Tides. It's so damn good. I will list everyone I'm going to play before the show is aired. It's all new music so I won't be playing Sharon or Villa Palagonia but a little bird tells me that you'll hear Bev Grant.

I'm not sure if I should eat dinner now or let my tummy get some more rest. For breakfast, I tried the mortadella. It was great. I had mortadellaeggandcheese.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 01, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!