I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 01, 2013 - 12:55 p.m.

Wild Ponies Coudn't Drag Me Away

My intestines are unhappy again When they are unhappy I am more likely to be unhappy. But for now I'll ignore all that and tell you about my day.

When Archie Bunker came home Edith would always say, "How was your day?" Archie would tell her. That makes you Edith Bunker. I'll start calling you "My Gentle Dingbats."

I wrote about how my tolerance for annoying people is evaporating. I'm so tempted to make a log of everyone I run into during the day. I won't though there will be a few in today's story, when I get to it. But I'll give you a bonus of one from the subway. First there was the woman carrying her hand bag off to the side. When she sat down it smacked right into me and ended up on my lap. It didn't occur to her to apologize. She seemed annoyed at me that my face hit her purse.

Now on to yesterday's adventure, I went to see The Wild Ponies aka Doug & Telisha Williams with a drummer, Jake, at Hill Country Barbecue. I usually have nothing but praise for Hill Country but they set me off yesterday. The show was at 10 PM and I called early to make an reservation for a seat down front. I was told, "the tables for parties of one or two are halfway back." I told them that was not only discriminatory but not their policy, I always sit up front and I always go alone. I told her that I was a friend of the bands and helped to promote the show and she said she's leave a note asking if I could be put up front. It should have nothing to do with knowing the band. The room is many tables put right next to each other. for the music you sit with strangers just like you do at Joe's Pub and every other music venue. I left it at that then realized that she never asked my name. How did she enter the reservation she said she was making? I called right back and got somebody else. I had given the first woman my phone number and he thought maybe she made the reservation with that. She didn't. Then when I got there where 45 minutes before the show when the room was just about empty, where did they put me? Yes in the middle. I asked to be moved and I was to exactly the seat I wanted. They just didn't have to make it difficult. It is discriminatory. Just because I don't go to a show with a bunch of friends doesn't mean I should get worse seats. What they should do is is reserve the front seats ONLY for people there to hear the music. You can guess why.

This was my first time seeing Doug & Telisha with drummer. I was wary. I've heard many a band ruined by adding a drummer. Not that drummers are bad, its' just that they don�t know what to do with one. They don't know how to mix the sound so you can't hear the lyrics. They don�t write with the drummer in mind and it distracts instead of enhancing the music. That's not what happened. Jake makes Doug & Telisha rock, not folk. Should I hate to say it or be happy to say it but this was the best show I've seen by them. This is their natural habitat. What's the music? Folk Rock? Country Rock? Rockabilly? I don't know, I just know it's great. It gets my body moving. There's content. The songs go somewhere. They even have a co-write with my beloved Amy Speace. Oh and they look good doing it.



The Wild Ponies go electric


Those are ponies on Telisha's dress


That's a 1933 Gibson Doug is playing.

I took a video but it came out with the sound over a series of stills. Anyone know what happened?

I had some issues with some people in the audience. Yes me? Can you believe it?

There were the usual people seemingly unaware that there live music going on or who don't know that you're supposed to be quiet when people are playing. One of them took some time off to listen for a bit and clap along � totally off the beat. Not on 1 and 3 he was clapping on 1.7 and 3.4 and wandering about a bit.

A group of people from the table with the guy with the clap didn't sit down after the break. They decided to stand, right behind me, and to talk loudly. I turned around and said, "If you are going to talk can you please move to the back? He nicely said, "sure." Then didn't move and the group continued to talk. When I said something again they did move back to their seats. Many of them left and that made things better, or it would have if another group didn't form 10 feet further from the stage from me and talked much louder. I got up and very nicely asked them if they wouldn�t mind moving to the back away from the music since they weren't listening and their talking disturbed the people that were. One of them said, "You should move!" OK you probably think of me as a mild mannered reporter for a great metropolitan newspaper, or at least mild manner. But the thing is that I don't take crap from people. So I let him have it. I said, "Do you just enjoy being mean? Is that why you won't move?"

"You move! You're the one having the problem, not me."

"You have the problem, you're a bastard." and I sat down.

Sorry I had to subject you to such harsh language. I just lost control. It actually did some good. His friends most have said something to him after I sat down. They didn't move but they got much quieter.

I said the music makes your body move. So you know how when that happens if you are with someone you go off to the side or to the back and dance? Sure you do. Why didn't the couple that danced know that? They thought the place to dance is directly in front of the musicians blocking people's view. Now they didn't block mine, I was on the side, the ideal seat for pictures, but they totally blocked another table.

I'll show you the slideshow to make things happy again.

Hey I told you I got sensitive to annoying people.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rod Picott. Those are my Nashville Peeps. I've known Amy for 10 years and Rod 13. I first saw Amy on a bill with Rod. And Carey was there the first time I saw both. And they both played Carey's house. The closest they are getting to New York is Concerts at the Crossing on December 7, a day that will live in infamy! The very same day that Pesky J. Nixon is doing their holiday show that I was invited to over a year ago. I have to find out when Doug, Telisha, Amy, and Rod, are doing other show even if I have to travel much further for it. Somebody book them near New York, like NOW! I'll be your best friend. Pretty please with sugar on top.

I'm going to eat breakfast and hope that bacon makes everything good.

Stop the presses! I went to Hill Country Barbecue, my favorite restaurant, and didn't tell you what I ate. I went in a new direction, all ribs, two pork and one beef. Most places that wouuldn't be enough food but theirs have so much meat on them. It was heaven.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 01, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!