I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 13, 2014 - 6:30 p.m.

My Kinda Woman or Sticking to My Guns

I am not sure what I'm going to write about. When in doubt I start with what I did. When I don't have therapy on Monday I have it on Thursday. So that's where I was off to. I went to my PO Box first by school where I knew I had mail. I expected my insurance card. I didn't get it. I had a Dell catalogue. I always throw that out but it comes every month.

Remember I said my shrink would be proud of me? I was right. I can pretty much do my entire session without her. I know what she's going to say. But you don't get better if you don't pay for it. At least that's what they tell you.

From therapy I went to Heather's apartment. It's nice having a friend whose new hobby is backing chocolate cake. You should all do that. Remember my rule, I love everyone that gives me chocolate more than everyone that does not give me chocolate.

I had good timing and was able to make it to Trader Joe's before the closed. I was out of milk and eggs. I was not going to have another cold breakfast. I also got a chocolate babka. The cashier praised me on purchase. Yes I bought babka after eating chocolate cake. It like chocolate.

It's about a 5 block walk to the subway and I got to the platform and went to get my book to read and realized I left my bag in the shopping cart! I raced back and got there 3 minutes before closing. They had put the cart off to the side with my bag in it. Whew. Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot? I should know the answer to that but I'm an idiot

I'm always amused when people don't get that I'm kidding about that. I will joke about anything. My stupidity is funny so fair game.

Now what? There's something I want to write about that is difficult. Let's see what I can do. One of the things Iv'e done with Carey for years is show her pictures of guys that I know she'll think are cute. I am inordinately proud of myself for knowing her taste I men so well. Last one I sent her rated an OMG. I also send her pictures of women that I think are cute. But here's the thing, my tastes are totally inconsistent. I do not have a type. There are a few types I like but they are not at all exclusive. I often say that the women I'm attracted to could be of different species. But I can't show you what I mean because I'm talking about people I know. My women friends reactions would be, "ewww you think I'm hot?" and "awwww you don't think I'm hot." I pretty much can't win. But I can use the species analogy. I know that Carey likes thoroughbreds. Not just horses, specifically thoroughbreds with a few other closely related breeds. While I like tigers, and parrots, and butterflies, and dolphins, and � . You get the picture. Oh and of course I like platypodes. And it's a crime that spell check doesn't like platypodes.

My taste in personality is more consistent. Any woman I have a thing for will be very intelligent and make me think. They will also be weird. It might be that only weirdos like me.

I have room so one more short thing. Guns. I read a lot on Facebook about guns and there is just so much missing the point. You read over and over again about school shootings but the odds of someone being killed in one are tiny It's not one of the top dangers children face. We read a lot about assault rifles. They are deadly but a small fraction of gun deaths. Those two things get a lot of play because it's felt that they are the things that people can agree on. but of course they are not. The big killers are hand guns and most people killed are suicides and then people that know the gun owner. You have lots of guns around and lots of people who have a moment of anger or despair have one handy at the wrong time. Guns are a huge public health problem. Tens of thousands of people die every year from them, mainly hand guns. And what is the public benefit of them? That they protect you from other people with guns? The analogy to cars is specious. Cars our vital to our economy and our way of life. Even people that own guns rarely use them. If they disappeared our lives wouldn't be changed. And that's where the argument should lie. Don't let gun advocates move the argument from that. Don't argue the definitions of assault weapons. Don't argue about the mentally ill. Don't argue school security. Those are diversions. They are the magician's hand to distract you.

OK I have to get going. Sorry for posting so late? I was up late last night then slept late then was busy all day.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 13, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!