I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 15, 2018 - 3:27 p.m.

Looks Like a Penguin

I should not be writing this. I should be heading down to the bus stop. There's a series of lunch time Irish concerts at 1 Liberty Plaza this week. Four of the five are bands that I know and would love to see. I'm going to none of them. Today it's Poor Man's Gambit. I discovered them at NERFA last year and have never seen them elsewhere. Genna Gillespie, a founding member of Burning Bridget Cleary is in it. So why didn't I go? I am admitting to myself that I'm human. I'm going to see I'm With Her tonight at Town Hall and I didn't want to spend an hour and a half traveling to Liberty Plaza, watch them play for an hour, then travel an hour and a half back home and then repeat it all later. My therapist will be proud of me, I didn't call myself a wimp, I said I'm human. The two are not mutually exclusive; I'm a wimp whether I call myself one or not.

My writing soundtrack today is random tracks from my jazz collection on Amazon music. I'm glad that I've finally reached the point where I have a jazz collection. I have not listened to everything on it. It's Amazon, it keeps suggesting things and I add them. The song on now is, Tell it Like It Is by Nina Simone. That segued into Linus and Lucy by the Vince Guaraldi trio. Jazz is a broad category. They are both great.

Oh, great I fell asleep; it's almost noon; I'm going to eat brunch. When I come back maybe I'll inspired or think better of the great idea I had yesterday, that I was excited to write up, that is now leaving me cold.

Now it's 2:31. I started writing this at 10:25. Four hours and I've written 315 words. In the intervening time I've thought about how people prefer mental shortcuts to thinking, The Mets, libertarianism and pacifism, they are related, jazz, and being a social insider or outsider. Instead of dealing with any of those I'm going to just tell you what I watch on TV or should I say my computer. You might have picked it up from occasional references but I'm going to list all the shows that I watch or binge watch. I'll include shows that I haven't finished or even started the binge but will have their turn. Odd thing related to my anxiety, I often put of watching high value shows, like Doctor Who or Jessica Jones to watch shows I'm not as invested in. If I don't pay full attention to Forever I don't really care. So, here's what I watch weekly and what's on my watch list. I'm going to do it by network.

CW
Supergirl
Legends of Tomorrow
Flash
Black Lightning
Arrow
Forever - Binging on CW Seed
ABC
Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D
Fox
Gotham
Netflix (watched or watching)
My Next Guest with David Letterman
MST 3K: The Return
Luke Cage
Iron Fist
Daredevil
Defenders
Punisher
Stranger Things
Jessica Jones
Netflix (watchlist but never watched)
A Series of Unfortunate Events
Altered Carbon
Black Mirror
Breaking Bad
HBO
Game of Thrones
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
Amazon Prime
Doctor Who
Torchwood
Band of Brothers
Baseball: A Film by Ken Burns

I think that's it. I went through all my bookmarks. That's a lot less TV than it looks like as many of the shows are on hiatus and I tend to binge one show at a time.

In the parlance of blogging this is what is known as a cheater. I didn't have to think. I often chastise people for not wanting to thing but when you pump out content every single day sometimes it's nice to take a breather. Tonight, I'm seeing I'm With Her so I'll have plenty to write about tomorrow. It's not every day that I see a band with a member that I'm friends with that gets a lead article in the New York Times Arts section. In Its Own Quiet Way, I’m With Her Is a Supergroup. The heading photo was taken at the Fordham show I was at a few weeks ago. See my tastes are not totally obscure. Sometimes the world catches up with me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 15, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!