I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 24, 2014 - 12:37 p.m.

Suppport Your Local Sheriff Public Radio Station

Well nobody read my last entry so go do that now. I'll wait. I'll just sit here listening to Sadko, Op. 5, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov on WQXR's Operavore channel. I'm not familiar with it at all. That's a good thing. I'm getting tired of "Ride of the Valkyrie." They seem to play that every day.

This is a public radio edition of Wise Madness as I'll also be writing about my day volunteering at WFUV. I walked in the doors around 6:25 AM. I was supervising on the first day of the pledge drive. It was me, Bill, and a group of students. I should know their names. There was Kelli, Kelly, Sean, and Marion. Not bad. I have my moments. Things were slow as an far greater proportions of the pledges were online than usual. One hour the ratio was 20:2. Later in the day one of the volunteers, a new one and I'm blanking on her name had a stretch of 5 calls asking for help pledging online and took only one pledge. We have started having some people take the phone pledges on the computer with almost the same form and I supervise that so I could help callers more than usual as I became familiar with the online forms. It's a bit anti-intuitive at times. All this worked out well for me as it kept me busy. Jim and I started to make a list of issues with taking the pledges on the computer.

I forgot to mention issues I had with my health. I had a Crohn's attack on Tuesday night,. I thought I might not be able to volunteer. I took my 20 mg of prednisone and it cleared it right up. But when it clears up I then have to spend an inordinate time in the bathroom. Still that's better than pain. I had a couple of mini-attacks while at the station but it cleared up on its own each time. An attack is food getting stuck in a constriction in my small intestine. It's like a drain being clogged. Sometimes it clears up on its own.

I thought I might have a hard time lasting the day as I got about 3 and half hours sleep and was not feeling great but I help up just fine. I doubted anyone even noticed the health problems. Except that I did tell Jim that I'd trade intestines with him sight unseen. By the way I have seen my intestines and I'm not talking with an x-ray. That's all I'm saying about that.

I tried grading tests at the station but didn't get very far. There are too many distractions, especially food. Yes I know I said I had Crohn's problems but in between I get hungry. That's my life.

I have been teasing Lori not LORi about going to London and Paris and not taking me and Joe. So when she came in with Bob and Rona I said, "Hi Rona who didn't got to Paris and London without me, Hi Bob who didn't go to Paris and London without me. "Hi Lori, what did you bring me?"

I am 5 years old.


She brought me a tin of tea that looks like a London Telephone Booth. I wanted a cute French woman. Nobody ever gives me a cute woman as a present. Lori said, "what about her personality?" I decided on the spot that I'm going to only care about appearance.

You realize that I'm joking right? While I'm not going to say it means nothing it isn't close to mattering the most. Like music I analyze what I like after the fact. First I just know I love someone. Two reasons I've come up with for loving someone are "knowing how to run with a joke, take it right up to the line then go way past it." The other is "being one of the most intelligent people I've ever known and always making me think. She gets my mind racing." They feel different but I recognize there's something similar at the core. Much more so than their looks; they could be different species.

After my shift my timing was perfect and I made the MetroNorth train back with just a minute to spare. Then waited just 3 minutes for the . It sill took me over an hour to get home. I planned things well and had leftover soup for dinner. Why does seeing blue potatoes make me happy? Is it just because of George Carlin's "there's no such thing as blue food" routine? He did that the first episode of Saturday Night Live. And the show was just called "Saturday Night" then. "Saturday Night Live" was the name of a show hosted by Howard Cosell that started the same season. "

Students are supposed to be in my office now making up a test they missed. They aren't here. That's sad.

I finished this early. Should I read, take a walk, or take a nap. I have a feeling it's going to be nap.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 24, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!