I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 08, 2014 - 5:09 p.m.

Volunteer of America

I'm not sure if this is a sleep deprived edition of Wise Madness. I have been up since 4:30 but I'm not sure what time I fell asleep or how long I was awake when I woke up in the middle of my sleep. I'm tired. We'll see how this goes.

The highlight of yesterday was my commute to school. It wasn't an particularly smooth commute. It took 15 minutes longer than it normally does. So what made it good? My attitude. I've been writing about happiness and I did the things that made me happy. I appreciated what was good and changed the mental subject when I thought something bad. I love The Name of the Wind. Thank you Carolyn for recommending it. Kvothe's experiences with love, music, and dealing with emotions more powerful than his intellect could handle connected with me. I made sure to look out the window as I crossed the Manhattan Bridge and got that amazing view of the greatest city in the world that I am lucky enough to live in. And of course I forgot everything else I reveled in because, you know why. Everyone together � I'm an idiot.

I still have not got my textbooks. One was supposed to be mailed two weeks ago. I suspect someone at school of intercepting it before it reached me. Class still went pretty well. It was one of those days where I felt I was not just being a good teacher but giving them things they would not get from most others. I like to give them not just methods and facts but perspectives. Oh and corny jokes.

After school I picked up mail. What did I get? Oh right my new silk weight long underwear. It is NOT as good as silk long underwear. I thought it wouldn't be as comfortable. the problem is that it's not as warm.

Then I stopped at Trader Joe's and went straight home. I knew I had to get up at 5:15 this morning so I wanted to get to sleep early. I didn't spend much time making dinner as all I had to do was reheat the soup. I have asked this before but I don't think I ever got an answer. Why does it taste spicier the second day?

Then I showered and went to bed. I am pretty sure it was before 9:00. Of course the stair stomper woke me up later. It took me a while to get back to sleep.

I still woke up well before my alarm went off. I had to get up early to volunteer at WfUV. I was up so early I could make coffee. I tried something new, coffee with chocolate I got from Trader Joe's. It wasn't OK not really special. I won't get it again.

Google maps was great. It timed my trip perfectly. I waited just two minutes for the subway and arrived at Grand Central exactly when it said I would. I had time to buy my ticket and hop on he MetroNorth up to Fordham.

The schedule had us come in a half hour too early! I didn't catch that till last night, too late to get a reply to my email asking fi it should be 7:30 not 7:00. So I got there early and beat the staff in. Good thing one of the students that worked there arrived just when I did and he could let me in. The only other non students there in the early shift were Connie and Peter. I was surprised they didn't know each other as I've known them both for ages.

We had something new! Two of the students took pledges on computers. There were a few glitches but for the most part it worked fine. We'll be trying it out all drive. Don't get your hopes up. They have picked the test pilots. You can't volunteer to use the computers. Yes I will be one of them when I' there with Jim so he can supervise. Then we'll reverse roles.

I often complain about how they changed he music at WfUV. There has been a total reversal. Used to only listen during the week but not on the weekend. Now though I listen on weekday mornings the station only plays music I love on the weekends. I considered not volunteering during the week or cutting back my hours but I can't. Once I'm there I know I belong. I've always heard that in war you don't fight for your country or ideals or your branch of the service but for the guys in your company. And that's what it is. I'm there and I am not volunteering for the music but for the people at the station. I go in and spend time with the volunteers I know, and the people on air, George, Seamus, and Kathleen, and the staff, Linda and Ginger and that's what I'm there for. I care about them, They care about me. Of course today they also play music I love, Irish.

Tonight I am going to a house concert with Aaron Nathans and Michael Ronstadt. I normally wouldn't go out when I have to get up so early the next day but they are friends and I don't see them often. It's in Jersey City but I checked and it's only an hour commute from here. That's not bad at all. I might be home by 11 PM. Even if it were midnight it's not too bad as my alarm is set for 6:05 tomorrow.

Now I'm going to try and take a nap. I am pretty sure I won't succeed.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 08, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!