I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 28, 2004 - 12:13 p.m.

"A knot" said Alice, "let me untie it."

Not much to write about yesterday. I stayed home most of the day. Alison and Max came over last evening and we went out to dinner with my mother. We had our usual disagreement about where to go to dinner. Alison always wants something �more interesting� I�m not that adventurous with my food especially around here. I know more places in the city. I suggested Donovan�s the local Irish pub that I know is really good. She finally agreed to it as usual really liked my recommendation.

I asked Max if he had The Autobiography of Python and found out that he did so I�m back to square one on getting him his Festivus present. He doesn�t have the Holy Grail DVD so maybe I�ll just get that.

I impressed Alison by solving a puzzle that no one else she knew could solve. One hundred hostages are being held by terrorists who apparently have tremendous respect for people that are good at puzzles. They are told that they are going to be seated in a row, one behind the other, so that each person can see everyone in front of them in the row and nobody behind them. Then they are going to be blindfolded and hats places on their heads. Each hat is either black or white and nobody can see the hat on his or her own head. Then starting with the last person, who can see everyone they will ask each person the color of the hat on top of his or her head. If he or she answers correctly the person lives, incorrectly and the person dies. This will continue till they get the front person who can�t see anyone.

They have time to prepare and discuss a strategy. There is one that will ensure that at least 99 of them survive. What is that strategy? If you get it right you win 2000 Gordonpoints.

Yesterday I finished reading Terry Pratchett�s Wee Free Men. Once again Mr. Pratchett blew me away. This is ostensibly a Discworld novel but except for some characters introduced in the last chapter it really has nothing to do with Discworld. It doesn�t even read like a Discworld story. What it does read like is an amazing children�s book. The protagonist is a nine year old witch wannabe. If I had children it is the kind of book that I�d love for them to read. It is a great story that teaches great lessons. It teaches the importance of reason, of compassion, of tolerance. It teaches how you must take responsibility. It does all that without being at all preachy. It is a great story, with great characters. You have to love the Nac Mac Feegle, a race of pictsies (not pixies). Think of drunken blue Scotsmen who live to fight, drink, and steal, and enjoy every minute of it. Tiffany, the nine year old girl, reminds me of amazing people that I know. Imagine Hermione stripped of all her pretensions, primness, and respect for authority and replaced with self reliance. A wonderful role model for kids. If you aren�t enamored with Pratchett but like children�s books give it a try. You might like it. I�ll take it over Harry Potter any day.

So once again I�m not writing the Horvendile Inquirer today. I love planning it out. I love having written it. I am not that fond of the process of actually committing it to electrons. It will be posted tomorrow. I promise.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 28, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!