I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 20, 2013 - 5:19 p.m.

All Hands on Vladeck

I have to hang out today after school so it makes sense for me to write then but I know that cuts down on my readership. But I want to eat lunch relaxed so I have no plans on finishing this before my late class. I don't know how I used to routinely finish blogging during the gap between classes.

Wow I have killed two hours since class without writing. I did edit the photos I took and ranted about how difficult Google has made it to use Picasa. It was the best Google service till they ruined it by committing all their resources to Google +. New thing, you can't change album visibility from the Picasa program and it doesn't give you the option of going to the vastly superior picasaweb. Good thing I bookmarked it.

OK I have to make a 6:08 train and it's 4:42 now. It takes a long time to buy a ticket at rush hour so I have to get there early.

Yesterday was one of those days I couldn't get any traction to get my day started. I planned on doing laundry, going shopping at Trader Joe's and Pathmark, then going out. Instead I didn't start on laundry to the early evening. I finished at 7:24 and decided I would still go to Rockwood Music Hall to see Andrew Vladeck's 8 PM show. If things went well I might even get there by eight and if not he might start a bit late and in any event if things didn't go terrible I'd make most of it. I in fact walked in about 5 seconds before his first song.

He was backed up on fiddle by Stephanie Coleman who I know from the Brooklyn Bluegrass/trad world. I wondered how they got together. I also saw on Facebook that Stephanie Jenckins was going. This led to me tagging SC's photo as SJ because, well they are both fiddlers in the same band with the same coloring and I usually see them together and SC is not on Facebook but a bunch of other Stephanie's are and most importantly, I'm an idiot.

But SJ was standing right next to me, though I didn't see her when I tagged her as being there so that was accurate� but of course the picture wasn't. But remember I'm really cute so I can get away with that kind of thing. If I say that enough maybe people will believe me.


Andrew Vladeck and Stephanie Jenkins Coleman

I've known Andrew for over ten years but we lost touch for a few. Then we ran into each other at the Living Room and reconnected. I can pretty much tell you why I love him by simply saying what kind of music he makes. Andrew plays Andrew
Vladeck music and there is pretty much no other way of putting it. He used to play a lot of what he calls alt-banjo. We know there is no such thing as alt-banjo. It's a banjo for god's sake. But he'd play it with a slide; David Gillis is the only other person I know who does that. It often sounded Chinese influenced to me but I don't think it is. It's just inherent in the banjo and he brings it out. Now most of his songs are on guitar but still unique. He follows the ideal that I always tell others to follow, he makes music that sounds good to him, not to fit anyone else's expectations. He doesn�t try to live up to other people's concept of art. He has the neuromusic ethos, creating his own aesthetic as he goes along, without making neuromusic.

It's hard to say what makes it different than what you usually hear. There's blues in there. There's folk, and even some rock. But something makes it come out different, and for the good. I never get bored listening to him even though it isn't the elaborate complexity that I usually say that about.

After his set I talked to him a bit in Rockwood 0 (the bar) and then headed back to Brooklyn. I stopped at the bank then had dinner at Shake Shack. I go by there all the time but usually I just get a milkshake or custard. Last night it was dinner. It wasn't as expensive as I remembered. It. The Brooklyn Shack Shack is the only one to go to, there are no lines.

Good I have enough time to write about a side topic. It's something interpersonal so I have to be circumspect. This isn't my usual talking about things for therapy or to teach a lesson. I hesitated to write about it but I think it's interesting and I bet people can relate to it.

Some things have happened that make me fear that I've lost a friend. This is someone that means a tremendous amount to me, as inner core as friendship can be. There person is simply totally unresponsive. We had a misunderstanding but I thought things word work themselves out. Recent events have me questioning that. But here's the thing. I could have thought about that and felt bad or I could have thought about happier things that are going better. So here's the interesting part. I feel guilty about not choosing to dwell on it and feel bad. While that is my usual attitude this relationship was so important to me that I feel it deserves to be mourned and to not do so is to not give it the respect it deserves. That is still tugging at me. But it doesn't hold up to scrutiny. An idea's feelings can't be hurt. Nobody is going to feel disrespected. I know how important the friendship is and making myself feel bad isn't going to make it any more or less important. So I'll choose to be happy. And who knows maybe things will get better. I'm lovable. I�m really cute (you're starting to believe that now). I'm still the same person that was loved.

So anybody else think about things like that?

OK I wrote this lightning fast. It's only 5:18. Now to post it and get to Penn Station.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 20, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!