I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 20, 2015 - 12:01 p.m.

Spring is Here

I did not have a good day yesterday. I never got dressed let alone left the house. I needed to go shopping and to the jeweler to get my watch fixed and did neither. I am not happy with myself.

I continue to customize this computer. I haven't found a way to get Word to open in draft mode but I now have a button to switch to draft in the quick access toolbar. I also sort of found a way to make it not skip a line when I hit return by default but it only works after the first return. It still skips a line the first time. That's so weird. What is it with computer people wanting to dictate how we do things?

I realized that I did something similar. Someone who shares the kitchen with me insisted on using a pot lid on the wrong pot. It didn’t fit, The pot she used didn't have a lid. So of course it often ended up boiling over and making a mess. I tried putting the lid with the correct pot. They match in color and of course fit. No she wanted to use the wrong pot and make a mess. So I put the pot in an inconvenient spot that she's have to stand on a chair to get to. But I did this to keep my stove clean. Computer people do it because they think it's somehow immoral to do things differently than their way.

I can't quite show you the thing I'm happiest I did yesterday. I made a silly joke with Carey. and then do what I do best, I ran with it. I recorded a song on my phone. Discovered that it was in a strthen ange format, AMR, and had to do online research to find how to make it an MP3. I did all this to make a 40 second recording that only Carey will ever be allowed to listen to. I might get killed if it fell into the wrong hands. But I knew that no matter how bad it was it would make Carey happy and that was enough justification. I can't say too much more about it .It's a bit like Tiny Toons. One good thing. When I took my shower that's what I was thinking about, not the ruminating over someone that’s become a reflex.

There's a great short story by Jean Shepherd, Wanda Hickey's Night of Golden Memories. Ralph, yes the kid from A Christmas Story is now a teenager. His parents ask him to go on a blind date with a friend's daughter. He is of course reluctant till he meets her and discovers that she's a beauty queen. He's all excited till she tell him, "I'm just going out with you because my parents are making me." He comes to the great revelation; He's the blind date! I spent part of yesterday wondering if I'm the blind date. OK it has nothing to do with that at all but it was a self-revelation that I hope is all in my head. Or maybe in somebody else's head. As long as it isn't reality.

OK so today is write about things that I can't write about day. It's also the first day of spring, the vernal equinox. The thing is that the equinox is not an entire day, it's an instant in time. Now you learned this in school but probably from a teacher that did not understand it well herself. What is the equinox? Well you know that the earth's axis is tilted to the plane of its orbit, the ecliptic. When the north pole is closest to the sun it's the summer solstice. We are doing all this from a Northern Hemisphere point of view. More people live there. When the south pole is at its closest to the sun it's the winter solstice. The two moments they are equidistant from the sun it's the equinoxes. The best way to visualize it is that the terminator, the boundary between day and night on the earth, goes through both poles. Equinox means equal night because it's the day that the day and night are closest to equal. No it isn't exact in most places. Teachers always get that wrong. The equinox is a moment, it doesn't last all day and that throws things off.

Explaining science makes me feel better. Things make sense.

Food also makes me feel better. I made jerk chicken and mashed potatoes last night. I made them just about perfect. I actually make garlic jerk chicken. I put garlic in one dish pretty much every dinner. Maybe that' why nobody wants to kiss me.

OK I have things to do today so I'm going to put this to bed. I'm going to hear live music tonight, Carolann Solebello and Heather Pierson, so I'll have something to write about tomorrow.

Oh I can't have a spring edition of Wise Madness without posting this.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 20, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!