I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 20, 2012 - 11:29 a.m.

Not One But Two Cute Girl Singers (A truth and a joke at the same time)

Accckk. I have to leave in an hour and I haven't started writing. I've been procrastinating all morning. Now I have to write fast and not post the videos.

I did not get myself out of the house early enough yesterday to do my major grocery shopping. I haven't done that in ages, instead I've been picking up a few things at a time a couple of times a week after school. Now that works great but there are times I need more. I'll have to try again tomorrow. I did desperately need tall kitchen garbage bags, I was totally out, and it was a beautiful day so I walked down to the 99¢ store on Union Turnpike. I haven't taken a walk in ages. I have to start walking again. And I did get out of the house. I had not even crossed my threshold this weekend. The furthest I got was opening the front door and bringing in the NY Times.

Last night I finally managed to do something on my Spring Break. I went to Rockwood Music Hall 2 to see Kristin Andreassen and Aoife O'Donovan. They are bandmates in Sometymes Why but these were separate shows though they did join each other.

I thought I had enough sleep yesterday and felt fine till I hit the subway. Then I couldn't stay awake. I started working on the Sunday Times crossword but without much success. I get nodding off. Because of that I have no idea why it took me 20 extra minutes to get there. I wanted to get there early. It wasn't a problem as the crowd arrived late too. Actually I got there before Kristin and she was on first. I just wanted a clear angle for taking pictures.

Kristin and Aoife are two of my favorite musicians and they are friends and I've known them for ages but for reasons I don't get I rarely see my usual crowd at their shows. Those I do see tend to be other musicians. The first people I saw yesterday were Molly from Red Molly, and Eben from Roosevelt Dime. Here they are in the Statler and Waldorf Seats.

. If you sit there and you're my friend, there's a good chance I'll take a photo of you and post it. I've given you fair warning.

ACCCKKK who stole my morning? I'm meeting Alison at 12:30 in the City and it's 11:12 and I'm not dressed. I had such fun things to write about. Now I have to rush it.

The other friend I saw before the show was Caitlin Canty. I just noticed that she was a bio major. So was Eben. Eben has published. Is this the new folk trend, biologist musicians? Well they should certainly understand life.

The only other one I knew there that wasn't a musician was Kevin, I expected to see him but he was a bit late and didn't notice him till after Kristin's Set.

Kristin's music comes from all over the place, string bands, kid's music, clever singer/songwriter, and Kristin inner weirdness. In other words I love her music. I love her too. I want to write so much more but I have a sister that I don't want to have to wait for me especially as I've been complaining about having to wait for her for my entire life. That's part of our family dynamic. She actually isn't late any more but that doesn't make a difference. Once your family rep is set, it's set.

Oh yes, I did sit with one other person during the show, Aoife. I love that she noticed that I missed her last show and was wondering where I was. With great obsession comes great responsibility.

Here's the short version of what I planned on writing about Aoife. Like Pesky J. Nixon she can be full-fledged artist expressing herself purely through her vocal performance. You don't have to write songs or even play an instrument to be a great musician. You simply need to move people and make them think. Aoife can do that with just her voice. But now she does more. She writes. She plays acoustic guitar. Last night was the first time she played Electric guitar on the stage. She has ever expanding musical horizons. It's the big bang theory of Aoife.

I'm going to have to come back and write more about this. I took videos. Kristin wrote a song that reminds me of family history. I even want to talk about her dress. There's math and psychology involved. But now I really do have to leave. I'll give you the slideshow. So yeah, I am not going to go into the great art that Kristin and Aoife made. I'll just let you see how cute they are and you'll be jealous. Cause you know I'm a guy and that's all we care about.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 20, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!