I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 14, 2014 - 12:06 p.m.

All That Jazz

Yesterday was Monday and that means therapy. Unusually I got out of her early enough to go to my PO Box by Columbus Circle first to get my package. I got the winter boots and thermal socks I ordered for the polar vortex. Yes it got here a bit late but I ordered it a bit late. It came last week but I was in Philly.

Here's a conundrum from therapy. I told my shrink that I set myself up for disappointment. Then guess what happened, I was disappointed. Now if I expected to be disappointed, was I disappointed? Reality met my expectations. I say yes because I felt disappointment and that's what it's about.

Then I was good again, twice; first I remembered to bring my new watch with me and then I remembered to go to the jeweler and have links removed so I could wear it. I bought it online and didn't know till I got it that the size was not adjustable. I have tiny wrists so watches are always tricky for me. When I finished therapy I Googled "watch repair near here." It gave me places within 20 miles. I was going to try again with "Watch repair within 1 mile" but the voice recognition thing started searching after "watch repair" and without anything else it gave me places within 1 mile. There was one two blocks away right on the way to the subway so that was perfect. it cost me $10 to get the links removed which seemed reasonable. Now I have a watch that fits perfectly.


Like it? Is it me? It is my first analog watch since digitals came out. Now that I carry a smart phone with me I don't need one with chronograph functions.

For my therapy food I went to Gunz European Imports on the corner. I got the chocolate espresso bar I got for LORi and these bacon snacks. They are like cheese doodles but bacon flavored. Yum!

Then I raced home because I didn't want to be carrying around a heavy pair of winter boots. Then I left immediately to go see the Terrific Tomoko Omura at IBEAM a new venue for me. It's across the street from Bell House. There's no marquee or real sign. I should have taken a picture, the name is just handwritten on what looks like a service door. It's an unusual space. It's used for rehearsals and lessons in addition to performances. In fact when I got there, just a couple of minutes before seven when the show was to start I couldn't go in because someone had a lesson. I found this out from Noah, Tomoko's bass player and the guy doing the video. they couldn�t go in either. There's no lobby or green room. It's just one room with acoustic panels on the walls. They set up folding chairs after the student finished. I was told the show was going to be late so I went to get something to eat. I just had a ham and cheese sandwich from a deli. That is not my idea of a good dinner.


Tomoko's Roots Quintet is. Tomoko has a different configuration every time I see her and I love them all. Don't get fooled by the name this isn't what we usually call Roots music. I didn't ask but it probably refers to her roots. The music is jazz, I won't pretend to know which flavor but they are all based on Japanese folk songs or songs from Japanese TV shows. My take is that the roots are Tomoko's roots.

I have been training myself to appreciate jazz forever. It's not my natural affinity but I could always tell that there's a there there. This was of the non-melodic variety, the furthest from my usual fare. I am happy to report that I loved it. It appeals to the Bach part of my brain. The instrumentation was piano, Tomoko's violin, bass, drums, and guitar. A casual listener might think they were all playing unrelated things at the same time. It was heavily syncopated, it didn't even feel that the bass and drums were in synch with the each other or anyone else. But if you take it all in you find that they are all in orbit around a central idea. Nobody is exactly on it and they each move in different directions but they sum to something that isn't chaos. The order is there just not in plain sight. And it isn't just there in an intellectual sense. The relationship is not mathematical or theoretical but there fir your ears to hear.

I'm seeing Tomoko again in Thursday at Caf� Vivaldi. That's going to be with her trio. That's a different lineup and a different kind of music. There will be some standards.

The show ended early enough that I could get to Trader Joe's before it closed. That's good as I was out of eggs and milk among other things. I couldn't find the truffle flatbread pizza I heard about. I'll have to check next time I go. When I checked out I felt a bit guilty. There are three lines that feed into all the registers. For some reason the four people there before me were on just two of the lines. I went to the front of the third and was taken before any of the people that were there before me. It's clearly marked out so I figured this was my reward for being brave enough to go on the line with no people in it which obviously the others weren't.

There's a ton of things that I want to write about but can't now. Some would take too long. Some are personal involving other people. So I guess that means I'm done. No I'm not. I'm going to show you more pictures.

First here's some I took of my visit to LORi.


Is that the perfect gift for LORi or what? Lady seems to think so. Let's take a closer look.

Who knows what that means? It's Cat's Tongues.

No idea why I took this. It probably involved blackmail. LORi seems very happy. I am sure she was being silly.

That's a brownie sundae, looks good. I had one too. But what was the name of the place? That's why I took the next picture.

Ruby's I knew that. I hope you know better than to believe me. I'm impressed I remember LORi's name. I've only known her 16 years. It usually takes me longer htan that to learn somebody's name.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 14, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!