I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 14, 2012 - 3:01 p.m.

57 Varietes

I am becoming almost functional. I am actually reading every email again. I have no backlog. Well of course I simply marked everything from before I set up the computer at m new apartment as "read." No way I can catch up an 18,000 emails. So if there is an email more than a week old that I haven't responded to send it to me again.

I've been working on the Budgiedome Schedule. Things are still in pencil and no schedule has been made but if we added nobody else we'll be playing late into the night.

I said that there were some issues with my apartment and I dealt with the yesterday. It involved making a trip to my office and while I was there I printed out some things I needed. All I forgot is to bring back my Baseball Prospectus from my desk to help with my fantasy baseball league.

I finally got a new mouse for my computer. I had been jury rigging my old one with scotch tape. Not to hold it together but to lift it a bit from the desktop. That stopped working and it wouldn't track. The new mouse is wireless and that's a big help as my computer desk is small and cluttered.

I did this despite having stairs issues from the anxiety. I get winded when climbing them. I've been using the elevators on the subway. I feel stupid using them but I feel stupider for feeling it's stupid. I have a health issue and there is no reason I shouldn't accept that and do everything I can to get around the discomfort it causes.

Last night's musical adventure was sing Tomoko Omura. I know her as the fiddler in RUNA. As you might have guessed from her name she isn't Irish. In real life she's a jazz violinist. I love the world of music. A woman from Japan studies jazz, the most American of art forms, then plays in an Irish band. Why does it work? Because as Duke Ellington said, "There are only two kinds of music, good music and the other kind." The show was at Tomi's, a Japanese jazz bar on the upper east side. She's doing a month long residency, every Wednesday in June. I had never see Tomoko solo. I know that she's wonderfully talented, I've heard her play more than RUNA material before shows when she's practicing. What I didn't know is how much the music would connect with me. I'm been trying for 30 years but I'm still just getting to know jazz. Some I love. Some jazz masterpieces I just don't get. I was afraid that Tomoko's material might be too abstruse for me. I am happy to say it wasn't. It was accessible and right on target. Some like her Body and Soul were straight out of the Great American. Songbook. I could follow even the less lyrical pieces. My favorite was her own composition that she finished her set with. Much of what I said about Snehasish Mozumder and Som that I wrote here applies to Tomoko's compostion too. It goes somewhere. It isn't sound for the sake of sound. I particularly love the way the violin and piano parts meshed. It had the feeling of waves going in and out of synch.

I wish I could have stayed for the second set but I have not been getting enough sleep and it caught up to me. Still I saw her for an hour and a half and that's more than you get at a set at Rockwood or the Living Room. I plan on seeing her again, maybe this month. She has a much bigger range of music than I heard last night. It always amazes me that I have friends who can make music like that. It always amazes me that they'd have me as a friend.

When I got home I pretty much crashed. I fell asleep watching the Daily Show. Today is going to be a challenge as I am going to see Mucca Pazza at 12:30 AM. I think I'll take it easy and try to nap before then.

I've been very fortunate to be able to hear such a wide variety of musical genres this month. I'm even more fortunate to be able to appreciate a wide variety of music. I mentioned how I have been working on appreciating jazz for 30 years. Some art, usually the best art, requires active participation from the consumer. You can't just hear or see it, you have to listen and look at it. You have to think about it. That�s what makes art and music appreciation classes worthwhile. So here's the genres I've listened to this month.

Then this weekend is the m�lange of music at Clearwater.

I think it's time for me to take my siesta now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 14, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!