I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 08, 2013 - 11:34 a.m.

Took Me To The River

The bandwith hog has made my router so slow that the photos I took yesterday that are automatically uploaded to my dropbox when connected to wireless are only now transferring. It's going slowly so I might only have the ones I posted on Facebook OK to post here. I don�t get to edit or resize them. I prefer the ones I post on picasa.

Yesterday I went up to the annual Take Me to the River Fest in Hastings. The tradition now is that I help Carter, the emperor of Westchester Folk's Common Ground Community Concerts booth. I take the train up to Hasting, he picks me up and head to Draper Park. My duties start with helping to set up the booth. Yes I can actually do that. Pretty hard to believe.

I took photos of the Hudson from the train from Riverdale to Hastings and made a slideshow of them.

Three of my favorite acts played the festival, Roosevelt Dime, Milton, and Spuyten Duyvil. Milton used to live across the street though he now lives in Brooklyn [Yay! Brooklyn!] and Spuyten Duyvil is from Yonkers one down over. Roosevelt Dime is from Brookyn [Yay! Brooklyn!]. Like many festivals I spent much of the day socializing. This is my annual hang out with Carter day. We talk a lot of shop. Shop being music as I like to make believe I'm in the biz.

There are always other friends there. Barbara helps book the festival, thus I always having friends playing, and I have my Westchester peeps. Tribes hill has their tent set up right next to ours.

There were two other bonus musician friends there. Carolyn's husband Peter's klezmer band was there in the first time ever "dance area" not that there was any dancing going on. And Anthony da Costa sat in with Swear and Shake, a band I didn't know.

Lori not LORi usually goes to the festival but she decided that she hates me far too much so didn't go this year. Spuyten Duyvil said from the stage, "Lori didn't come today because she hates Gordon. She is the meanest woman on earth." You should have heard the boos.

The weather was glorious and the day relaxed. I spent most of it in the shade of the Common Ground Booth and didn't take my usual seat right in front of the stage. I wandered around a bit to look around, get food, and hear Peter's Klezmer band but that was it. I didn't remember the best thing about the festival for hours, that I can go "backstage" and eat artists' food. It was actually pretty disappointing this year but there were miniature midnight milky ways the ones with dark chocolate. That's pretty much worth the trip there.

I discovered great secret plans of Roosevelt Dime but it's a secret so I can't tell you. Yes I am pretty much saying "I know a secret and you don't nyah nyah, nyah nyah, nyah, nyah." I am extremely mature.

I'm not going to review most of the music, just the last band Black Violin. People had opinions on them. They pretty much mix classical music with hip hop. So my take was that when they were adding drums to classical strings I liked them quite a bit. When they added strings to hip hop I didn't. after one song I thought I was going to be blown out of the water loving them. Then they disappointed me. Much of the crowd loved them but it's so much "They have a good beat you can dance to them" reaction. But I liked them quite a bit more than some of my other friends. The way I put it is that I liked every other song. What struck me is that they got to play Obama's inauguration and can wow a festival why the string trio of Brittany Haas, Paul Kowert, and Jordan Tice play house concerts. I saw them earlier in the year and it might have been the best concert I've been to this year, One of the best I've ever seen period. That is the kind of thing that makes me think I'm an alien from another planet. It's how the people that preferred Mozart to Salieri must have felt back in the day.

When I was talking to Carolyn and Peter I started to say how it was too bad that Milton was going straight to Ohio after the gig or I could ask him for a ride back to Brooklyn. Then I realized that I'm an idiot. OK I already knew I was an idiot, It just struck me again. Carolyn and Peter are from Brooklyn and I know them a lot better than I know Milton and I could ask them for a ride. So that's what I did, and guess what, I got one. Yes that meant I wasted money on a ticket home but it was worth it. It's so much faster.

Today I'm going to Summer on the Hudson: 11th Annual West Side County Fair. It looks like so much fun, OK I made a few calls and the people I called can't make it. At least I tried.

I also tried to post the pictures but I think I will have to settle for the slideshow. Part of Google+ ruining picasa is that bugs entered the program. The default for posting pictures became "Private" so nobody else can see them because that's why we all post pictures, right? So nobody can see them. Then when you switch the privacy it doesn't get to all the pictures right away so you can't link to them. Repeat after me Google+ is evil. That's why they have to extort you into using it.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 08, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!