I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 06, 2016 - 4:27 p.m.

There Are Still Books

I'm going to be writing shorter entries for a while. You might think that's a good thing. Let's start with food. Brynden's parents came over last night and brought deli sandwiches. I had great corned beef. My mother was not good at cooking corned beef so I grew up thinking I didn't like it because it was too stringy. Now I know differently. It's yummy. My mother was not a bad cook, some things she made great, like duck, others not so great, like corned beef.

Today's adventure was going to the library while Brynden was busy elsewhere. I discovered that they didn't have any of the books on my Goodreads to-read list in large print. Want to see my list? Here it is, To-read list sorted by highest average rating.. No I didn't check the entire list, just the top three pages in the mobile version of the sight. What I ended up getting was Game of Thrones. I took out my old distance glasses which now function as reading glasses and found I could read. I have to read in good light and hold the book a bit closer than usual but it was fine in the library. So now I'll get all confused between the books and TV show like all the cool people. The LOTR films never had a chance of supplanting the books in my mind but here, who knows?

I had a pulled pork panini for lunch. That was an odd mix but tasted great. They came with home fries which I suspect were actually roasted potatoes. I'm not sure.

I'm going to be able to see No Fuss and Feathers on Sunday at First Acoustics. Sad that it's now a trek when it used to be 20 minutes away. I'm going to go early and enjoy some time in the City. I want a taste of my life.

I haven't talked about The Nashional Batnoses, my Rotisserie Baseball team in a while. Well I have had other things on my mind. So you know how I didn't do any preparation till the last day and was woefully ignorant of what was going on? We are tied for second place and have moved within 10 points of first. Yes, there's some luck but it's also a matter of having good tools and a good theory of how to draft. I screwed up and came home with money on the table but I also picked up two closers for half the price that others are paying for one closer. That is luck. I have no idea why they went so cheap. It might be because I didn't know things that others knew. My hitters are underperforming by quite a bit so we have upside. Also our best starting pitcher is hurt.

A quick word on respect and politics. I wrote about this ten years ago and it still needs repeating. I see many posts on Facebook scornful of working class whites that support Republicans, what were once Reagan Democrats and now Trumpeters. I know where it comes from but I also know it's a self-defeating attitude. We don't win when we crush them and make them feel even more disempowered. That just strengthens the movement. We win when we convince them that we care about them and that our policies are the ones that are in their interests. Every time you insult them you drive them away. We are their suitors not their opponents. They are not the enemy; they are the battlefield. If you want them to come around first and foremost treat them with respect. Here's a simple thing to do. Every time you use "White" in a sentence, replace it with black or Muslim, or Hispanic, and see if you'd find it offensive. If you do, then it's offensive.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 06, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!