I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 24, 2014 - 11:23 a.m.

Tess of the Barbecues

I did not get enough sleep but I'll defy Morpheus to write for My Gentle Readers.

I got to school yesterday and discovered that I did NOT have the current edition of my precalculus text though I was assured that they hadn't updated it. I don't have any text for my finite math class. Is this any way to run a railroad? Between classes somebody came to fix the copier/printer. The admin wasn't in so I had to deal with him. if I wasn't there I don't know what he would have done. He couldn't even get in the office. He had to wait for a part and he gave me the info of how to contact him when it arrives. Of course I'm ot there now. I left it on the copying machine if anybody looks. Later I had to scan my text book so I can give the students problems that I have copies of and that was a pain as I first had to unjam all the paper. Yes I wasn't printing anything but it wouldn't do anything till I took care of that. I had to open every single panel and clear paper from all over the place. Oh and I had to cancel every print job one at a time. I am the only one that takes care of anything.

After school I went got get my new phone. Yes nobody turned my phone in. I'm 99% sure I left it on my desk right before school closed and it wasn't there when school reopened so of curse somebody on the cleaning crew stole it I told Security that but I don't think they are going to do anything. They said they'd ask if anyone found it. If somebody had found it they would have turned it in already. I wanted security to confront whoever cleans my office.

Anyway I went back to the radio shack where I bought my last phone. I had trouble because I didn't know the PIN. It wasn't one I picked but my birth year. Nobody told me that. I had jump through hoops to get it changed. I was asked when I activated the account. I thought he meant on the last phone. It wasn't. It was when I activated my first Boost Mobile phone. They never seemed to understand that I lost my phone. The computer was locked out the first time they put in a wrong PIN. I worked things out and guess what. The guy didn't unlock the computer so we had to call back again. The sales person was great, she earned her commission. It required a lot of patience. The second guy we called started to flirt with her. He was in the Philippines so I don't think he's going to get anywhere. The process took me over an hour but now I have a phone. I I have been adding apps every since. good thing that most of my numbers were backed up online. That's a great thing with droids. It's all on Google. I'm even ahead of the game and downloaded the ringer app I had on my crummy ZTE phone. I made my first personalized ringtone. My plan is that every musician friend gets a ring tone with her singing. The use of "she" does not mean they are all women. I have taken to use she for all third person singular pronouns where the gender is not determined. I will stop reminding you of that soon.

So it cost me a lot of money and I had to waste a lot of time but it wasn't as bad as I feared. I had a lot of anxiety about this beforehand.

After I got the phone I went to my new favorite venue, Hill Country Barbecue Market Brooklyn! Yes it's only 20 minutes from me and of course my favorite restaurant. I went there to see the marvelous Miss Tess.. So what can I say about Miss Tess that I haven't said before. she's a Brooklyn peep that I see often. Well that's important, she's someone that I can see often and don�t begin to tire of. She sounds like she looks more than anyone I know.

What does she play? It's something out of a time capsule. There are elements of swing, early rock and roll, and country & western. It has pretty much nothing to do with folk but she lives in the folk world. That's what people don't get. Many people don't get what kinds of music I listen to at all. It isn't even acoustic music, notice the Strat the guitarist is playing. Folk is roots based music outside of the control of the corporate world. There's a lot of rock, a lot of jazz, and a lot of whatever in the folk world. What kind of music does Tess play? Good music. Past that you are splitting hairs.

There were not a lot of people there. The place just opened and Tess didn't publicize the show much. Most of the people there, were there to eat, but they were quiet and listened attentively! I did not have my usual complaint. And as there wasn't much competition I got to talk to Tess quite a bit, a plus for me.

I just found out about it yesterday. I'm glad I did. I've been feeling blue and keeping on the go keeps the demons at bay. But something remarkable happened as I was leaving. This is about as high a praise as I can give to anyone. After saying my goodbyes without thinking about it I said to myself, "I love being me." I have not said that in ages. I have been hating being me. I don't know how long this will last but the clouds have remained parted.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 24, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!