I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 25, 2013 - 10:32 a.m.

My Mirror

I'll let real life intrude at the start. I have to move out today and I have no place to move in. I am waiting to hear about an empty room with just an air mattress in it. So if you have a place I can spend the night please tell me.

It was hot and where I am now has no AC so I spent the day out. First I went to my office, then to therapy, then back to my office. Therapy did some good. When I went back to the office instead of crumbling I went apartment hunting. No luck but I was able to work on it. So once again, I need a place to sleep tonight. preferably in Brooklyn, Pretty please with sugar on top.

Last night I did what I do, Despite my problems I went out and did something great, I saw Tammy Faye as Nico in Chelsea M�dchen.. I'd say that I've known Tammy forever but she's way too young for me to have known her forever. Let's just say that I've known her since she was in the classic Co-ed Prison Sluts. She's an actress/singer/performance artist. More accurately she's an entertainer that has created her own niche. It's hard to say what she does but it's easy to tell that she does it very well. She performs in character. Often she performs as a character performing in character. Tammy Faye Starlite is herself a character, a creation of the real person named Tammy but not Faye Starlite. Last night she was Nico as in Velvet Underground with. How good is she? John Cale, who should know, said:

I think it�s a really good idea, it�s the other side of the coin. The humor in Nico is very hard to find. She was really good at creating the perfect storm. She would read a room, and would say things that would send everyone off at the same time. As an agent provocateur, she was perfect.�

The show is done under the auspices of the Andy Warhol Foundation,.

The conceit of the show is that we are at radio interview of Nico in Australia. She answers questions and sings songs. It follows her entire career. There was a lot after VU. There was even a song before VU that she did with Jimmy Page.

Velvet Underground with Nico is one of my things with Carey. I love having things with people. One of the nicest things Carey ever said about me was that I was her mirror as in the song, I'll be Your Mirror. The irony of course is by saying that she was being my mirror.

So here's this song that I not only love but has a strong personal meaning for me and what does Tammy do? She looks right into my eyes while singing it. Not sure how the rest of the audience took it but it is was intense for me. An advantage of being me is that I've had many singers, sing directly to me, off stage and that's always special. It's an all encompassing experience. This is the first time it's happened to me from a stage.

Tammy totally nails Nico, warts and all,. The warts are where the humor is. The comedic highlight is the sort of title tune, Chelsea Girls Nico hated the flute on the album and that became the gag. When she sang that song she was accompanied by a flute. She attacked the flautist and took away the flute, dismantled it, and gave it to people in the audience, he took out a piccolo. She attacked him again and confiscated that and gave it to the audience, then a penny whistle. Finally he just whistled. She never missed a beat singing while this was going on. Well except when she was hurling vitriol his way and complaining about how long Lou Reed made the song.

How good was the show? I spent my time enjoying it and thinking about how to write about it, not my problems. Even now thinking about it, it's keeping the anxiety away.

I was thinking about which of my friends, other than Carey, and the other Carey, would love it as much as me. There is Jim who was there the last time I saw Tammy and wrote about her, And there was Jen who I met at the show But who else? I didn't know. I don't know, Does this sound good to you? Exciting? I now know one more person. I wanted to see if there was a video of Tammy doing I'll Be You're Mirror. There isn't but when searching I found this.

The interviewer is Eric Holland, from WfUV! A friend of mine interviewed her on my favorite radio station and I didn't know it. Did any of My Gentle Readers hear it? Good job Eric.

Now who wants to see it. This run is over but I'm betting that she does it again. She will do something else wonderful and outrageous.

OK now I have to pack up my stuff and head out of here. Wither then I cannot say. I hope someplace in the City so I can see Barnaby Bright with Caitlin Canty tonight. I'm supposed to do merch and yes with my life in turmoil I still want to do that.

And remember if I can crash with you tonight, I'd appreciate it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!