I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 14, 2014 - 12:18 p.m.

Change the World

I am an idiot, as idiotic as doornail. This must be distinctly understood, or nothing wonderful can come of the story I am going to relate. In other words there's going to be an idiot story. The challenge for you, My Gentle Readers, is to see it coming.

Yesterday I unsuccessfully tried to list the musicians I saw the most last year. I had not kept a record of all the shows I went to. Of course most people don't but I'm not most people. I'm not a bean counter. I don't have a little book of all the shows I go to with all the set lists. I don't say, "This is te 132nd time I've seen the Dustzappas." I have no idea how many times I've seen any band that I've seen more than a few times. But I love to have a record of my shows that I can look back on and say, "Oh I saw Betty Bumpwhistle open for the Dustzappas before she was famous." And I like to be able to find who I saw together and where I saw them. And yes I like to check at the end of the year who I have seen the most. But I didn't keep those records. But what I did do was blog just about every day. I don't have the names of all the openers, especially the ones I didn't like, but I can reconstruct most of it. Yesterday that's what I started to do. I've now listed every show through March 3 of this year. Guess how many I saw in that time. Come on guess. I saw 32 shows in 62 days. That's above my historic rate. I decided yesterday that I'm not going to give the summary till after December 31 so it will include the entire calendar year. Next year that's when I write my best album of 2014 too. Just because everyone else makes their list of best of the year lists in December doesn't mean I have to be inaccurate too. No more of this fiscal year nonsense.

I'm listening to John Platt's Sunday Breakfast. I always do when I update on Sunday mornings. The thing is that the show is over. I'm listening to the beginning of last week's show. I generally don't wake up in time to catch the start. This morning I got up at 8:30, turned on the show, and fell right back to sleep till 9:00 so I just heard him announce songs that I wish I had heard, one by M Shanghai and the other by the Parkington Sisters. It's been way too long since I've seen them. Why haven't they played Rockwood Music Hall? Have I been missing them? They are playing on Friday but as an opener and I can't afford to spend the money. They are a band that are in the own little ecological niche in my life. I discovered them at John Platt's On Your Radar but I never see my friends at their shows. They are usually at Rockwood 2 and I sit in the Statler and Waldorf seats. They spot me, We wave, but we usually don't talk? Why? I talk to everyone. How do these strange habits get started? Later in the show John played Mya Byrne. I love hearing my friends' music played.

So remember how Amazon sent me a thermasilk undershirt instead of the pants I ordered? I got the pants on Friday but I still haven't returned the shirt. They emailed me a mailing label to send it back via UPS. I don't have a printer so I went over to Heather's Friday to print it out and have dinner and forgot to print it out. No that' not the idiot story. I think I told you that already. I went back yesterday. I was good I asked Heather to print it out right away. I made dinner. I stopped on the way and got chicken thighs. There was a great sale at Pathmark, 40% off. I also picked up Emeril's Essence as she doesn't have the jerk seasoning I usually use and wanted to try something different. I then got creative and added garlic powder and a touch of curry. It worked. I can not just cook; I can vamp. I made mashed potatoes with it. Yummy.

I have no idea where the time went but I didn't stay and watch TV like I usually do when I'm there as it was too late to start on a movie. I took the bus home. A bit after I got on the bus guess what I realized. I left the mailing label at Heather's. I am a total idiot. It is so hard not having a brain. Heather's going to go to Jalopy with me tonight to see Robinson and Rohe's Christmas show. This is the shadow puppet show I saw at Jean's house last year. I'm pretty sure she's not going to ask me to take part in the part singing at a public show. There probably won't even be the caroling. That's a shame. Yes the nice Jewish atheist boy that can't carry a tune loves to sing Christmas Carols. So you should come to the show tonight and not hear me sing.

Yesterday was the big march to protest the failure to indict the officer responsible for the death of Eric Garner. Why wasn't I there? Anxiety has a lot to do with it. I just have trouble getting myself going. But I have been thinking a lot about it. I have some questions about the entire protest. What exactly are people hoping to accomplish? What exact policy change are people hoping for? I always feel better about those kinds of protests, ones with concrete goals.

It's not like there's an official government policy to kill black people. Tbe killings go on for complex reasons. It isn't cops saying. "I'm going to kill me a black!" Black cops are more likely to kill blacks too. It's a deeply rooted prejudice. It's an unreasonable fear of young black men and a lack of empathy with blacks. The worst part of the Garner killing was not the assault which was a heat of the moment fast moving thing, but the callousness after he was down. And that's perhaps what the protests can help accomplish, getting cops to see how many people care that they don't objectify blacks. That it isn�t acceptable to stand around and do nothing while someone asphyxiates. I'm sure that the current administration would investigate the case as a Civil Rights violation without the protests but it makes it a political necessity going forward.It moves the Overton Window. If you did protest kudos to you.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 14, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!