I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 20, 2013 - 11:12 p.m.

Viva Las Vega

This is a unusual late night edition of Wise Madness. I spent all day at WfUVand when I got home I spent some time watching Dollhouse while the internet was less intermittent than usual. That meant it only took twice as long to watch as the episode actually runs.

Wow I had a lot of hits today from Googlebots. I don't know why it gets obsessed with Wise Madness at times.

Now let's travel back to yesterday. I'll see how this goes. I might write about today in my usual early morning time slot. That's actually a good idea.

I managed to waste most of the day. I'm very good at that, but I did get out of the house in time for the day's adventure, seeing Suzanne Vega at Madison Square Park, That's Park not Garden. I arrived later than I usually do, six o'clock for a seven o'clock show. That's because I wasn't racing to get a spot down front. Katherine was joining me late so I wanted her to be able fo find me easy without making a spectacle of herself. I set up next to the sound booth. Not only did that make me easy to find but that's where the sound is best. I also didn't want to be social butterfly me but sit down with a friend and enjoy a show me. I was quickly spotted by Chris who came over and said hi and invited me to join him up front. I knew that was going to happen and was actually happy he did. I just didn't join him and Sharon. I was social a bit more and said hi to Maggi. She runs the concert series. I can't go there without talking to her. When I got back to my spot I saw that Mike an FUV voluinteer was set up behind me .I stood up in my bright orange Mets shirt that I wore so Katherine would spot me and was spotted by Samantha. She's the outgoing WfUV volunteer coordinator She just graduated Fordham and is passing the torch though she isn't' going far as she'll be getting her masters there. She came over and I talked to her. Me not being a social butterfly looks a lot like me being a social butterfly. There is a difference, this was bounded.

I sat down and ate my dinner. I got a sandwich from Subway. it was quite good. I got a message from Katherine saying she'd be late. We knew might happen, thus my being away from the stage. My problem now was that I had my phone sound off so if she texted me I wouldn't be able to hear it. So I just kept looking for texts every minute. Three songs into the show I got one saying she was by the sound booth but couldn't see me. Why? Because I idiotically decided to lay down to get comfy. I sat up, turned around, and waved to her and she joined me.

Where does Suzanne lie in my musical universe. I have never quite figured that out. When she burst on the scene she was the vanguard of the Fast Folk revival. I had no idea that it had been going on for a while because it wasn't played on the radio I listened to, WNEW and KRock. Then there was Suzanne and Tracy Chapman and I Folk Music re-entered the mainstream. It was a breath of Fresh Air. When I bought a CD player theirs were among the first I bought.

But then I discovered other songwriters that I had a stronger connections with. I saw Suzanne's weaknesses, especially the lack of diversity in her music. So many had the same tempo and feel. Seeing her live put a new spin on it. I discovered that she was funny. She provided the comic relief between her often gloomy songs.

So she's always been someone I liked, someone I even loved with some qualifications. She's someone I'm happy to see and won't miss for free but not someone I have to see. I was certainly not going to miss a free show from her in one of my favorite venues. Watching her show was a lot of fun. I liked her new material. She asked if one song was too fast. It wasn't. it was exactly what her sets always need. It's why Tom's Diner is always popular. It's her song that is different. I realized that I have always thought of her differently because she's had more commercial success than other folk performers. The thing is that doesn't make her better. But it doesn�t make her worse either. She's still better than the vast majority of performer son the coffeehouse circuit. She's just not at the pinnacle.

I had to get up at 5 AM the next day so of course I stayed out late talking to Katherine after the show. Yes that's pretty much the par for the course from me. I love my post concert quality time with friends. We didn't even go anywhere or do anything, just sat on a bench in the park and talked.

I think I'll put the story of my lack of sleep despite getting home in plenty of time to get enough sleep into tomorrow morning's post. It fits in more naturally there.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 20, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!