I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 30, 2013 - 1:26 p.m.

Cindy Brady vs God

That's weird this document opened with the wrong font. Maybe it's because I was messing with the styles. MS is weird.

I slept late this morning, far later than I have in ages, after 10 am. I have nothing planned for today so it's no big deal.

As you might sense from the short paragraphs this is going to be a strange edition of Wise Madness. That reflects what's going on in my head.

I am insanely behind in my classes. If I hadn't come to the realization that absolutely nobody cares about that I�d be having fits. I won't finish the curricula and the precalculus students might have a bit more trouble in calculus. Perhaps not, if I went faster they wouldn't understand it. I'm cutting everything to the bone. If you don't need it for calculus I'm not teaching it.

It was Friday and I had nothing planned so I went with my default Friday plan, going to the Free Music Fridays at the American Folk Art Museum. This worked out great because this week ti was something I would have planned on going to as my good friend and musician Jeremiah Birnbaum was playing. He has the official the Budgiedome seal of approval. We need to make an actual seal. Or get an actual seal, the animal.

It had the makings of a fine evening except that there was a cloud on the horizon. I was having an anxiety/depression attack. I went anyway as it could only help and it's all of four blocks from my office. Jeremiah was great. I played a game. I listened to most of the show with my eyes closed to decide if Jeremiah looks like he sounds. He is on the outer edge of expectations based on the voice. You don't go, "He looks like that?" but you don�t go, "that's exactly what I thought he'd look like. " What does Jeremiah write about? What's around him. They aren't story songs from his imagination and they aren�t confessional internal songs. He paints what he sees.

There were two other performers on the bill, both from Tennessee. I stayed for the first one but the anxiety and depression started spiking. He wasn't good enough to take my mind off it. He might be fine but didn't command my attention and that's what I needed. I said good bye to Jeremiah and went off to seek my fortune. Well to seek eggs so I can have breakfast today. I went up to Trader Joe's, they have great prices on eggs and aren't far away and I could buy some fun things too. I got there and what did I find? They were out of all the eggs that I wanted, the jumbo or extra large eggs without attitude. What's an egg with attitude? It's organic or free range or has omega something or other or some other excuse for them to charge more. As that meant I had to stop somewhere else for eggs I didn't buy anything fun.

I was still feeling miserable so I decided to get some therapy food, Shake Shack by the Museum of Natural History. I started to feel better while I walked. I think it's because I found myself singing Touch-a Touch-a Touch-a Touch Me from Rocky Horror

I didn't decide to sing it. I just found myself singing it. And I just found myself feeling better. Good thing as the line at Shake Shack was out the door so that was out. I went to Ray's Pizza nearby. Nothing like the real Ray's now Roio's in the Village but it's good and I've had a lot of good memories there. I was still feeling bleah but better than before. I ended up getting my eggs and the Ideal supermarket by The Last Homely House West of the Mountains.

I was going to watch something on Amazon Prime but it wasn't working. Things conspired against me. I tried to talk to a friend but she was about to go to bed when I said hello. I didn't feel like starting a conversation "I'm feeling anxious and depressed."

I was going to write about being anxious and depressed but that would probably make me more anxious and depressed. I'll use one part that I thought about. Even when I'm anxious an depressed I can see the humor in things. I can see what's funny. That means I can be funny. Have I been funny? I've let some come through. That's all I ever do. I never say, 'what's something funny I can write. The funny stuff just comes and I let it out.

So what will I write about? A sure crowd pleaser, Susan Olsen aka Cindy Brady.


Carey tagged me on a link to an article,
Susan Olsen, A.K.A. Cindy Brady: My Gay TV Dad Robert Reed �Would Have Been The Best Husband Ever�
. I gotcha now, Cindy Brady and gay dads. But here's the thing, it is also about how Susan lost religion! Go read the article and come back here. I'll wait. Don�t worry about me I'm listening to an advance copy of Andrew Vladeck's "All We Got". It's really good. Now go read about how Mike Brady being gay didn't make Cindy a lesbian but anti-religion.

You back? Good timing me too.. Funny first time I read it I thought she was an atheist. But she isn't. I read what I wanted to read. I had enough doubts about that though to reread it to make sure. That's the heart of skepticism, to be skeptical even of yourself.

I'm going to still do what I plan and extend her argument into one for atheism. She was upset with how Religion made a good man, Robert Reed, feel guilty about being gay. I am too. It reminds me of my favorite part of Huckleberry Finn, his being racked with guilt over helping Jim. Society's values that even he absorbed said that was wrong as he was stealing Jim's owner's property. He thought that made him bad.

Many people would not accept Susan's argument. They'd say, "God's not like that. Religion isn't like that. It's a false view of religion that says homosexuality is a sin." But that is putting religion on its head. It's saying that you don't learn morality from religion but choose your religion based on the morality it expresses. But then what's the point of religion: The people that feel that way, many, perhaps most of my Gentle Readers, don�t think it's a guide to how the world was created. They don�t believe in Adam and Eve and the Days of Creation but evolution and the Big Bang. So what's left for religion and for God? He doesn't give morality and he doesn't explain the universe? It is just an excuse for people to get together. Why do you need the excuse? If that's what you want, do it. Don't make up fairy tales to justify it. Unless of course you know it's a fairy tale like the Flying Spaghetti Monster. Kudos to Susan for bringing him up. And of course the FSM has an advantage over other fairy tales as it's true. I'm a good Pastafarian and won�t admit otherwise.

Maureen McCormick covered Dave Carter even if her people were dismissive to Tracy Grammer. Susan Olsen managed to combine compassion, gay rights and anti-religion into one short article. And of course in the Carey-Gordonverse she;s, Buffy the Vampire Slayer supervillains Jonathan and Andrew's landlord in Tijuana. Brady girls are just cool. Well except for Jan. Jan is always the forgotten one. That's why Marcia gets all the potatoes and socks.

Wow it's late. I better eat before I die of starvation. I mean I went out and bought the eggs, I might as well eat them. thinking poached.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 30, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!